Chocolate Carrot Cake

I have been waiting exactly 20 years to share this Chocolate Carrot Cake with you. Back in the day when I was a university student (and new mom) I had little time (or money!) for celebration or going out on the town. There was a quaint little restaurant nearby that was a popular gathering spot for many students and faculty and it was there that I first had a taste of this ultimate Chocolate Carrot Cake. This cake became a constant fixture throughout my years as a university student, showing up through many little triumphant celebrations and even at some tragic failures.
After convocation I moved away to Calgary with my little family. I never quite forgot about the role this Chocolate Carrot Cake had played in my life.  Every time we travelled through Saskatchewan to visit my family, I would insist on stopping into the restaurant to grab a piece for take away and every time I would ask politely for the recipe.
Each time I asked, I was denied the recipe but I never gave up. Over the years, the kids grew up and they also began to look forward to our Saskatchewan ‘cake stop’. My daughter, in particular, knew how much this tradition meant to me. For my 40th birthday, she emailed the restaurant, told them how much the Chocolate Carrot Cake meant to me, and mentioned that she wanted to bake it for me for my birthday. They sent it to her right away.
Twenty years is a long time to wait for a recipe.

Chocolate Carrot Cake

Ingredients
  • 4 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 1/2 cups canola oil
  • 6 eggs
  • 1 cup apple sauce
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup Dutch process cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Grease and lightly flour a 10 inch (16 cup) tube pan*. Pre-heat oven to 325 F.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the carrots, oil, eggs, and apple sauce together.
  3. Sift the dry ingredients together in a large bowl, then stir until they are combined.
  4. Gradually add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in the stand mixer bowl. Mix well.
  5. Bake at 325 F for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

*For this cake, I used 3-inch cake pans and lined their bases with parchment paper. I had enough batter left over to bake another cake in a loaf pan. They were in the oven for 40-45 minutes.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter; softened
  • 1 tub spreadable cream cheese; room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 cup Dutch process cocoa
  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar

Method

  1. Cream butter in the bowl of a stand mixer. Add cream cheese and combine well.
  2. Add vanilla.
  3. Sift cocoa and icing sugar into the bowl and combine well.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

12 thoughts on “Chocolate Carrot Cake

  1. What a great story, Bernice! And how thoughtful of your daughter to email the restaurant for the recipe and make it for your birthday – so sweet! I would not be able to resist a request like that, either. I can’t wait to try the recipe. Chocolate Carrot Cake – it is so intriguing.

  2. I’d never heard of a chocolate carrot cake until now!! I am intrigued – and of course the cream cheese frosting, but chocolate-ized! That is so cute and thoughtful of your daughter … happy 40th!!!! (and generous of the restaurant to share the recipe!)

Leave a Reply

