Pork Carnitas Black Bean Soup

I heard recently that soup swaps are the new cookie swaps. While I am unsure that soup will EVER replace cookies, swapping soup among friends is a great way to have a handy lunch in the freezer for those days when you are feeling under the weather or just plain lazy. I usually fall into the latter category and I really have to admit to you all that I absolutely hate making lunch. For me, it’s the worst meal of the day because it has to be small, yet satisfying and most of the time when I cook, I like to go big. Since I work from home, it’s easy to look up from my keyboard and notice that it’s 2 pm and I haven’t eaten any lunch, or worse yet…anything at all and suddenly I am starving! Usually I end up making scrambled eggs and toast because it’s easy and filling and I refuse to have canned soup in the pantry. Now that I’ve done my first soup exchange, my freezer is stocked and there are no excuses.

porkcarnitasblackbeansoup2

The soup that I made for our Bite Club exchange took very little time to make since I had some leftover Pork Carnitas in the fridge. This is a quick, meaty and warming soup for those very cold days when you wish you were on a sunny beach somewhere. Since I was making it for an exchange, I didn’t add any spice to it but I think you could add some chili flakes or float a cut chili in the soup as it’s cooking. Alternatively, add some hot sauce just before you eat it for that extra kick.

Here are some tips on hosting/participating in a soup swap.

  1. Limit the number of people. 6 seems to be a good number as not many people make more than 6 litres of soup at a time.
  2. Make sure everyone knows what kind of dietary restrictions/allergies are required.
  3. Include the recipe for your soup, reheating instructions, and if any extra stock will be needed for serving it.
  4. Freeze your soup in 1 litre portions ahead of time.
  5. If you use glass jars to freeze your soup, make sure there’s a LOT of room for expansion. No one likes glass in their soup.
  6. Here’s a great chance to use up all of your ‘Ukrainian Tupperware’. Reuse margarine and yoghurt containers.
  7. Don’t cheap out. No, I don’t want your 500 ml of soup for my full litre.

porkcarnitasblackbeansouppin2

Pork Carnitas Black Bean Soup

Ingredients

  • 4 lbs pork shoulder; trimmed OR pork steaks
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp ancho chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 2 tsp dried oregano
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
  • 2 oranges; zested and juice of
  • 2 limes; juice of
  • 4 cloves garlic; minced

Method

  1. In a small bowl, mix herbs, spices, and salt together. Rub into the pork and season with pepper.
  2. Place pork in a slow cooker and add citrus juices, zest, and minced garlic.
  3. Cook on low for 8 hours. Shred the pork and enjoy!

For the soup… (makes 6 litres)

Ingredients

  • 6 cups shredded pork carnitas
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 large onion; diced
  • 2 cloves garlic; finely minced
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp oregano
  • 8 cups (2 L) chicken stock
  • 28 oz diced tomatoes
  • 2 – 14 oz cans black beans; drained and rinsed
  • hot sauce (optional)

Method

  1. Add oil to a soup pot and sweat the diced onions on medium heat until they become translucent. Add garlic and sauté for a few more minutes.
  2. Add chili powder, cumin, and oregano and sauté for a minute or two.
  3. Add diced tomatoes and scrape the bits off the bottom of the pan.
  4. Add stock and let the soup come to a boil.
  5. Add pork and black beans, return to a boil.
  6. Serve or portion into containers for a soup swap! soupexchange

Along with my dish today I’m excited to be sharing delicious 30 minute meal recipes from fellow Canadian blogger friends under the hashtag #CANRecipe. Tried and tasted food straight from our kitchens.

Salmon and Papaya Lettuce Wraps @ Everyday Allergen Free
Easy Coconut Curry @ Maple and Marigold
Big Salad & Avocado Dressing @ Allergy Girl Eats
Lemon Chicken Soup Orzo @ Mommydo
Kid’s Vegetarian Chili @ Off The Porch
canrecipe-jan-2017

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

9 thoughts on “Pork Carnitas Black Bean Soup

  1. I have to admit, I hate making lunch too. I go out for lunch more than I should, and like you I default to eggs and toast when I’m at home. A soup exchange is a great idea, and your pork carnitas soup looks delicious!

  2. Pingback: 30 Minute Meal Roundup | Allergy Girl Eats

  3. Pingback: Lemon Chicken Soup with Orzo - 30 minute meals #CANrecipes | MommyDo

  4. Pingback: Flavourful and Easy Coconut Curry #CANRecipe | Maple and Marigold

  5. Pingback: Kids Vegetarian Chilli Recipe Solves Protein and Eating Issues

Leave a Reply

