Spiced Pumpkin Walnut Cookies

Have you ever noticed that you always have leftover canned pumpkin purée after you make your Thanksgiving pie? The cans are a whopping 795 ml, but every darn time I’ve made a pie I’ve only ever used around 500 ml. I have finally come to realize that the ONLY reason to have that little bit left over is so that you can also make pumpkin muffins or cookies! Why stop at just a pie when you can bake those same flavours into another treat?

While we’re on the subject of canned pumpkin, did you know that many brands are one of or a mixture of butternut, Hubbard, Boston Marrow, and Golden Delicious squashes? I read this article from the Kitchn and was completely floored. I always buy E.D. Smith here in Canada and this year I made a point of reading the label which said 100% Pure Dickinson Pumpkin. I realize that there isn’t much of a flavour difference between squash and pumpkin but sometimes there may be a bit of a textural difference. Of course none of this really matters if you’re the type to make your own sugar pumpkin purée. In the past I’ve peeled, cubed, steamed, and puréed my own pumpkin, but my hands break out in an itchy rash due to my squash allergy. Yep, I said squash allergy. It turns out that I can eat fully cooked pumpkin (and squash) purée because the heat denatures the protein in squash that I causes my reaction. I can’t eat raw, grilled, or under cooked pumpkin, squash, or zucchini. Since there really isn’t that much of a difference between home made and the canned purée, besides a whole lot of work and a bit more money, I’ll be sticking with the canned version from now on.
pumpkincookiesSpiced Pumpkin Walnut Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter; room temperature
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1 1/4 cup pumpkin purée
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

Method

Beat butter in an electric mixer for 30 seconds. Add about half of the flour, then add the eggs, baking powder, spices, vanilla, and baking soda. Beat until thoroughly combined, then add remaining flour and pumpkin purée. Drop by rounded teaspoons on a prepared cookie sheet and bake at 375 F or until the edges are lightly browned. They are quite cake-like in texture so it’s nice to have a little drizzle over the top, such as this Apple Brandy Caramel Sauce (recipe). Makes 30.

2016-10-18-001-010

pumpkincookies2

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Pumpkin Walnut Cookies

  1. Wow. Really intriguing cookies! I just made a pumpkin polenta this morning with leftover pumpkin from the pumpkin pancakes. Plus I added some to my grand daughter’s oatmeal. I LOVE leftover pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

