In My Kitchen – February 2016

After I’ve skipped a month (or two!) I’m back to post for February’s In My Kitchen. It seems that I have missed the changeover as long time host Celia (Fig Jam and Lime Cordial) has shifted the hosting duties over to Maureen at The Orgasmic Chef (thank you Maureen!). I’m so glad to see that Celia is still participating because she is a wonderful baker, chocolatier, and gardener! It’s always a treat to see what her sunny garden down under is producing while we, in Canada, remain in the throes of winter.

I’ve been pretty busy this month here at Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen. There have been several product deliveries, recipes tested, cakes baked, and even a video production!

We started the year off with a celebration! 3 years of Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen…wholecakelemons

Lemon Meringue Cake recipe here

After that party,  we had to watch our eating a bit so this granola delivery from Nature’s Path was perfectly timed! I think my favourite granola is the Coconut Chia.granolaTo add to the breakfast fun, we had a special delivery from Ninja Kitchen…this Nutri Ninja Compact Auto IQ system. Up until now, we’ve had a really horrible blender and therefore didn’t really enjoy any smoothies in the morning, or at all. Now, we’re having smoothies every second day and I’m really glad I froze so much fruit this summer.004

Inspired by Celia, my daughter and I have joined together on a sourdough baking project. She started a rye sourdough starter the first week of January and I’ve made 4 loaves of Rye Sourdough with ‘Pierre’, all to varying degrees of ‘success’.  This one was our favourite so far.bread

You may have heard by now that 2016 has been designated as the International Year of Pulses (IYP2016) by the United Nations. Their intent is to help position pulses as a primary source of protein and other essential nutrients throughout the entire world. Our family eats quite a lot of beans, split peas, chickpeas, and lentils already but I’ve decided to add even more to our diet by taking the Pulse Pledge. I’ve resolved to prepare a delicious pulse-based dish once a week for ten straight weeks. Here is one dish I’ve made that features lentils with shrimp and harissa.

lentilsRecipe here

On the one day that I forgot to soak the dried beans overnight, an Instapot pressure cooker was delivered to my door, just in time to save the day.  I actually bought this gadget myself (it’s not comped in anyway) and I just love using it. I used to be terrified of pressure cookers, but this Instapot is pretty fool proof PLUS it can cook those dried beans in 15 minutes. It’s a life saver!001

After the beans, I was instantly hooked (they call us Instant Pot enthusiasts ‘potheads’) and the first complete dish I made, Pork Medallions with Herbs and Mushrooms, turned out wonderfully. porknmushrooms2And finally…I was out of commission for a couple of weeks, filming and editing my very first video! It’s for the ‘Star of the Show’ competition sponsored by Canadian Lentils. I made Red Lentil Mochi and here is the final video. If you get a chance, please visit on youtube and give it a ‘like’ or share!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

3 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – February 2016

Leave a Reply

