Coffee and Dulce de leche Macaroons

There’ s a bit of a lull in Christmas preparation in my home today. The solitude is nice but I can’t help but think that I am missing out on some really important detail and, with hubby’s family flying in from Winnipeg tomorrow, I really feel the pressure to get everything…’just so’. Since the teens are off of school and hubby is home from work I’ve delegated many of the jobs that would normally keep me busy for days. It’s been great seeing everyone pull together to get everything ready on time and I don’t think I could have done it without them!

Extra quiet time also means extra time to bake some last minute Christmas treats. I’ve never tried to make coconut macaroons before, but I know that my boy especially likes them and would appreciate having them on the goodie tray. I set out to make just regular macaroons, but when I realized that I had to choose between a can of light condensed milk and dulce de leche condensed milk, I knew right away these macaroons weren’t going to be ‘light macaroons’ at all. Since I had already deviated from my original recipe, I decided to bring out my little tray of extracts to see which one would work the best with dulce de leche. After passing up caramel (too similar) and lavender (yuck!), I settled on coffee extract. I found that some of the macaroons felt apart after baking so I made sure to form the next batch a bit more and they turned out just fine. No one complained about having to eat the ‘ugly’ macaroons that fell apart. macaroons1

Coffee and Dulce de leche Macaroons

Ingredients

  • 5 1/2 cups sweetened flaked coconut
  • 2/3 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 can (300 mL) Eagle Brand dulce de leche condensed milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp coffee extract

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Line baking trays with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.
  2. Add coconut, flour, and salt to a large mixing bowl and stir to combine.
  3. Add dulce de leche, vanilla and coffee extracts, then mix all ingredients very well.
  4. Drop about 2 tsp mixture by rounded spoonful onto the prepared baking trays. Moisten your hands and form the dropped cookies into a firmer ball (otherwise they may pull apart during baking).
  5. Bake for 10-12 minutes. They will still be slightly soft when you take them out of the oven but they will firm up. Drizzle with melted chocolate if you like.

macaroons2

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

6 thoughts on “Coffee and Dulce de leche Macaroons

Leave a Reply

