In My Kitchen – November 2015

My goodness it’s been a long time since I’ve participated in In My Kitchen. The truth is not much has gone on in my kitchen except for the ongoing renovations that started in April. Yes, April. One of these days, the kitchen will be complete and I’ll be able to post the finished product. Until then, here are a few things that have been going on.

I attended the third annual Food Bloggers of Canada conference in Montréal, Québec and had a wonderful time learning, socializing, and networking. Then there was the amazing swag bag provided by the many sponsors: swag

My dad decided to surprise my mom for her birthday with a trip to visit her ‘far away’ children and grandchildren. They stayed for a week at my sister’s house and spent her birthday at mine. I didn’t mind the short visit though, I had plenty to do and my dad can’t stand the big city. He is in the stages of completing his wood working shop and I’m looking forward to seeing what he creates in his spare time. He brought me this section of old barn door to use as a back drop/surface for my food photography. backdrop

I scored big at Value Village with this very Mad Men-esque cocktail set. I am guessing it originally came with more glasses so I will keep my eyes peeled so that I can eventually complete the set. I fell in love with the almost round glasses, etching, and gold accents.cocktailset

My cook book obsession continues. In addition to the great books I got in my conference swag bag, I couldn’t help but buy these three. Pretty soon I’m going to need an addition on the house, just for a cook book library! cookbooks

And last, but certainly not least, there was some great food in my kitchen this month! I made the ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie just before I left for the conference. I regret not taking any ‘big girl camera’ photos but here’s one from my cell phone. lemonpieYou can tell the daylight hours have left us here in Canada. The long, dark winter is ahead of us and today we had our first significant snow. 024Which means Christmas is on the way…and so is the beginning of Christmas baking!

pecanpolverones1Pecan Polvorones with Muscovado and Rosemary Centres

Thank you so much to my friend Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting a peek into November kitchens around the world!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

13 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – November 2015

  1. Nice to see you at IMK Bernice. Your snow is such a contrast to Brisbane’s hot and steamy conditions. The barn door remnant will be the perfect photo backdrop. Isn’t it amazing what you learn at a bloggers conference.

  2. I’m really missing not being able to do Christmas baking because of our own kitchen renovation but hopefully not too much longer! I’ve stopped buying cookbooks as I never get to read them but they still seem to find me! Loved you post – welcome back!

  3. Bernice, I can’t imagine trying to cook in the middle of a kitchen reno…. you’re in good company with a couple of other IMKers going thru the same thing. What you did manage to eke out looks delish! I don’t mind that you took the lemon meringue pie photo with your phone — I’m just trying to keep from stabbing my fork through my computer screen. 😉 Loved your recipe for the rosemary pecan cookies! Glad you got to attend the bloggers’ conference, too — what a nice assortment of goodies you brought home. xo

  4. wow so many great things in your kitchen. i was at the australian bloggers conference in october. so much fun. i am drooling over that lemon meringue pie. it looks to die for. oh and i love the wood your dad gave you and what about the cocktail set? fab stuff.

Leave a Reply

