In My Kitchen – September 2015

The days are getting shorter and evenings have a bit of a chill to them. There’s no denying it, the last days of summer are passing by quickly and fall will soon be upon us. I don’t really mind because summer hasn’t been too kind to our family and I really am ready for a change. This time of year I’m busy keeping the boy fed in between football practices and using as much fresh produce as I can before carrots, beets, and kale are the only local vegetables I can find at the Farmer’s Markets.

This year I’m doing quite a bit more preserving, not just the usual jams and jellies but I’m making my own passata, canning peach pie filling, and putting up some pickled beets and beans for the teens. The whole family pitched to make creamed corn when I temporarily lost my mind and bought a whole bag of corn at the Farmer’s Market. creamedcorn

We spent some time at my parent’s farm where my youngest son had the chance to be a farmhand for a while. I know it’s not really ‘In My Kitchen’ but here he is with his uncle learning how to break down a chicken. I’m also throwing in this photo of Hazel, the orphaned Bison calf that my cousin is bottle feeding. She’s so darn cute!inmykitchen2

It’s been so long since I’ve posted for In My Kitchen I thought I would include these Spicy Meat Bombs made with jalapenos, cream cheese, spicy chorizo, and bacon. After I cooked them on the barbecue I slathered them with a sweet barbecue sauce.

Meatbombs1

There were some products that I enjoyed working with as well. I made a Reese Peanut Butter Chocolate Spread Frozen Dessert and enjoyed a bottle of La Marca Prosecco with hubby for our 19th wedding anniversary.
inmykitchen1I braved the insanity at IKEA because I saw that they have a gorgeous new tableware line called Sittning and I always have my eye open for cheap, stylish props. I was told that each year IKEA has a theme and this year the theme is… FOOD. Here is most of my haul: ikeaI have to get going now because football practice is almost over and dinner is still not ready! Tonight is fried rice, Spanish style because I have left over saffron rice in the fridge and I’m going to mix it with some fried chorizo and fresh green beans.

Much thanks to Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting In My Kitchen every month. Do take a look at her lovely blog to see what’s going on in her Australian kitchen..

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

12 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – September 2015

  1. Oh mon dieu, those meat bombs!!! Can you come over and make me some? My mouth is watering :-).

    And now I need to go to Ikea. It’s funny how I swore when I got out of university that I’d never shop there again…and then I somehow find myself there on a monthly basis. Ha! Love those dishes.

  2. I really really want to do some preserving this fall…it’s the one thing that I just haven’t tackled, but really need to. I love the idea of having my shelves and freezer full of summer goodies! And I’m loving your new food props – looks like I need to make a visit to IKEA!

Leave a Reply

