Summer of Sangria – Berry Rosé Sangria

I had my first taste of sangria last year on Canada day. It was a tough day because my dachshund, Louis, had run away the night before and was spending the holiday in the slammer at Calgary Animal Services. The sangria definitely helped and I was slightly consoled with the knowledge that he was safe. Perhaps if everything had been ‘business as usual’ I would have gushed over the sangria and asked for the recipe.

I had no further thoughts of sangria until I picked up this beautiful hand made in Poland glass pitcher at Homesense. When I saw it on the shelf in the store I knew it would be perfect for all our patio-sized summer cocktails. First up…sangria!sangria3Last night was the perfect night to sip sangria on our sunny deck and I was really excited to have some company to share it with.  My little sister was passing through on her way to a Washington music festival and I knew we’d only have a couple of hours to visit…I had to make it count! I love her free spirit and am always amazed at her ‘mature beyond her years’ attitude. She’s always someone I can count on for advice when things get overwhelming. I only wish that she lived closer to me.

sangria2Yep. Those are my little sister’s sunglasses

Sangria is bound to become my patio drink of choice this summer. How fortuitous is it that I revisited this tasty summer drink right at the beginning of patio season? Let me know when you’re coming over and I’ll mix up a pitcher full…

sangria

Yep, those are my toes!

Berry Rosé Sangria (epicurious)

Ingredients

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup water

1/4 cup creme de cassis

1 1/2 cups mixed berries (I used blueberries and strawberries)

1 (750 ml) bottle chilled dry rosé (I used a 2011 Charles Melton Rose of Virginia Rosé from the Barossa Valley. I probably didn’t need to get that fancy)

2 tsp lemon juice

Method

Add sugar and water together in a small pan. Bring up to a gentle simmer until the sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and add the creme de cassis and berries. Let cool until room temperature then add to pitcher. Add chilled wine and lemon juice and cover. Chill until you are ready to serve. Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

9 thoughts on “Summer of Sangria – Berry Rosé Sangria

  1. Sangria is my favourite patio drink. My mother in law has an amazing recipe that she makes every time we stop by in the summer. I love the berries in this recipe. It sounds delicious and looks very refreshing 🙂

Leave a Reply

