Lemon Paprika Chicken Legs

Firstly I want to really thank everyone for their kind words and notes of encouragement in response to my previous post. Supporting my daughter is exhausting and some nights I feel as though I have run a marathon. It means all the world to me that you all care so much and that gives me strength to continue. I have been a bit ‘all over the place’ in adjusting how and what I cook for my family so I’m not really ready to post anything we’ve eaten lately. Luckily I had this post half written before events transpired and I’m pleased to be able to share it with you. 

I will be the first to admit that I have a little bit of a ‘cheap’ streak inside me. It is very rare that I will buy anything at full price and I will spend ages looking for a deal on a needed item, especially if said item is expensive to begin with. I begin Christmas shopping early in the year so I can find the best gifts for my family and friends at the best prices. This is probably the only reason the only le creuset I own was given to me as a Christmas gift (by hubby who rarely buys ANYTHING on sale!). I would never have bought a le creuset for myself…until now. This purchase was definitely about me being in the right place at the right time and now I couldn’t be happier with my new 6.6 L le creuset roasting pan. Anyone who has a larger family knows that finding a roasting pan with a larger cooking surface is near to impossible.

I had one el cheapo clay with enamel pan that I bought at a grocery store and which cracked on the second time I used it. I managed to get about 10 meals out of it before those cracks had grown enough to nearly split the pan in half. In fact, after I took it out of the oven for the last time, I was very lucky it didn’t split into two, spilling hot oily chorizo and sweet potatoes all over my body. This le creuset pan is cast iron covered with the company’s very durable enamel. It’s not going anywhere and I will never have to worry about this pan splitting into two. So are you all wondering how much of a deal I got on it? It still is difficult for me to say that I spent $200 on ONE pan but at regular price this baby will set you back $400. Half price was just too difficult for me to pass up, especially when it is one of the pans I use most in my kitchen. Now I don’t have to worry that the cheap pans are going to break or contain chemicals that harm my family. One more thing…the clean up on this pan is super easy…just soak it in hot, soapy water and the food comes right off. I guess I’m starting to sound like I’m plugging le creuset (and I wish I was!!) but this is just me raving about a pan that I am totally and utterly in love with.

Here’s a super easy and delicious way to bake loads of flavour into chicken marylands. I like to bake the entire leg with bones and skin because it just tastes better. The meat remains moist and for those of you that like crispy skin, this recipe is perfect for you too. When I saw this recipe in the ricardocuisine.com chicken category, I knew it would be the perfect recipe to christen my new pan.

paprikachickenVery few ingredients are required to make this tasty chicken

paprikachicken1And the technique is very basic

paprikachicken2 But the results are fabulous!

Lemon and Paprika Baked Chicken Legs (from Ricardocuisine.com)

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup (75 ml) olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons (30 ml) lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons (10 ml) paprika
  • 1 clove garlic, finely chopped
  • Grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon (5 ml) Dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon (5 ml) salt
  • 6 chicken legs
  • 1 lemon, cut into wedges
  • Pepper

Method

  1. With the rack in the middle position, preheat the oven to 180 °C (350 °F).
  2. In a bowl, combine all the ingredients except for the chicken. Set aside.
  3. With your fingers, gently lift the skin from the chicken legs without tearing it. Spread the lemon and paprika oil on the chicken flesh and skin. Season with pepper. Places the pieces, side by side, in a baking dish. Add the lemon wedges.
  4. Bake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes or until the meat falls off the bone. If necessary, finish cooking under the broiler for about 5 minutes or until the chicken skin is golden brown.
  5. Serve with the lemon wedges, rice and a vegetable of your choice.
This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

9 thoughts on “Lemon Paprika Chicken Legs

    • Thank you very much K! Yes, I am quite amazing at how easy and delicious a lot of the recipes are from Ricardo…I think this dish will be a regular on our table. Thank you ever so much for the follow as well.
      B

  1. A few days ago, I tried baking chicken with lemon wedges like you did but somehow there was a bitterness that kind of ruined the dish. I’m just wondering what could have gone wrong.

    • I’m not really sure…did you only use the zest of the lemon in the paste? I didn’t have the lemon on the pieces of chicken while baking. Also, I use a sweet smoked paprika. Maybe the kind of paprika?

      • I actually used the sliced lemons in whole which was a wrong move. I think the bitterness came from the white pith. Shall just omit that the next time I bake the same. But thanks anyway!

  2. Beautiful! I got my first le creuset for Christmas too! Think my momma got it on sale as well. I think it’s the braiser, but I use it for pretty much everything now! Love it!

Leave a Reply

