Maple Glazed Pork Tenderloin

Soon we’ll be leaving for our holiday in San Francisco. I’m so excited but I have so much to do before we leave, including scheduling some blog posts and figuring out what we are actually going to do once we are there. I’ve never been to SF but I know many people who have and they’ve all given me such fabulous tips and ideas.  I know of at least 4 food bloggers that have gone in the last two weeks so I’m looking to their eating experiences for inspiration. I’ve pretty much given up on sorting out reservations by now as many restaurants book up months in advance. I guess hubby is just going to have to learn to wait in line so that we can hopefully snag a ‘walk in’ table at one or two of the hot spots I have my eye on. Once again, it seems as though I have inadvertently booked our hotel within stumbling distance of one of the most popular beer hot spots…we’ll just call it ‘beer radar’ shall we?  In addition to a couple of nice sit down dinners, I’m looking forward to enjoying a sudsy brew or two, eating in Chinatown, slurping some oysters, and fulfilling my carb requirements at some delicious bakeries.

Enough about my trip. It’s pretty obvious I’m procrastinating here…putting off planning and packing and telling you about this great pork tenderloin recipe I found last week on ricardocuisine.com. It’s part of their Easter recipes campaign but really you could enjoy it anytime of the year.tenderloinThe most difficult part of the recipe was all the tears I shed while I was mincing up all those shallots. Even though it was a touch painful, I would never omit them from the recipe. Cooking more with maple syrup is on my ‘to do’ list so I’m really glad this recipe included this great Canadian cooking ingredient.

porktenderloin1Maple Glazed Pork Tenderloin (Ricarcocuisine.com)

Ingredients

  • Flour
  • 2 pork tenderloins, about 1 lb (454 g) each
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) butter
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) vegetable oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 4 shallots, minced
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) maple syrup

Method

  1. With the rack in the middle position, preheat the oven to 180 °C (350 °F).
  2. Prepare tenderloins by removing tendons and silver skins.
  3. Dust the tenderloins with flour. In an ovenproof skillet, brown the meat in the butter and oil. Season with salt and pepper. Remove from the skillet. Set aside.
  4. Add a little butter in the skillet, if necessary, and soften the shallots. Add the mustard and maple syrup and simmer for about 1 minute, until it thickens. Return the pork to the skillet and coat with the sauce.
  5. Bake for 16 to 17 minutes for medium rare doneness.
  6. Remove from the oven and cover with aluminum foil. Let rest for 5 minutes before slicing.

NOTE: I don’t own an oven proof skillet so I browned the tenderloins in my regular skillet, then transferred them into a baking dish. I deglazed the skillet with a splash of white wine to soften all the meaty bits left in the pan. Then I proceeded with step 3.

 

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

2 thoughts on “Maple Glazed Pork Tenderloin

  1. I love this recipe and it reminded me that it’s been too long since I’ve made a pork tenderloin. Maybe next week. San Francisco is such a great city to visit. And so many great restaurants. Have a great trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

