Pickled Egg and Beet Spinach Spring Salad – A Ricardo Recipe Experience

Winter. It’s over! Thank goodness…I’ve been so OVER the root vegetable salads, specifically Roasted Beet Salad. Root vegetable based salads are quite tasty, don’t get me wrong…but after six months of darkness, I’m ready to lighten it up a little! When I was asked to share some Easter recipes from ricardocuisine.com with my readers I was immediately drawn to the Pickled Egg and Beet Spinach Salad recipe. It was as if the dreary winter had suddenly stopped existing, the sun came out and the birds were chirping. Spring is a time for renewal and what better way to change up an old favourite than to add these lovely, bright pickled eggs to the old beet and spinach salad. I love pickled eggs, but I think I will be pickling them with beets from now on. Not only do they look really cute and are dyed the perfect pink, but they taste fabulous too! beetsaladThe recipe is certainly not difficult but you do have to make it a day ahead of time.  This makes it a perfect ‘make ahead’ dish for your Easter feast as it really comes together quickly after the initial pickling process. As you can see from the photo above there is quite a large ring of beet dye around the eggs. I had the eggs and beets pickling for about 28 hours, less time would probably give you a thinner ring of pink.  Flavour-wise the beets were spot on. They weren’t as pickled as the ones you can buy from the store (which are actually too harsh for me) and you can still taste their earthy beet flavour clearly. While making the salad I didn’t follow the vinaigrette recipe to the letter because I didn’t have any white wine vinegar. I substituted a white balsamic reduction and omitted the honey because the reduction was already quite sweet. I also used tarragon infused dijon mustard in place of regular dijon which turned out to really complement the pickling spices that I had used to pickle the beets. 109I only made half of the recipe quantity that was provided online and now I really regret it. I had the whole family gather round as I cut into the eggs for the first time and they all had to have a half before I put the salad together. I was a bit worried there would be none left to photograph!

Pickled Eggs and Beets (ricardocuisine.com)beeteggs

Ingredients

  • 12 small beets
  • 12 peewee or small 
eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups (625 ml) white vinegar
  • 1 cup (250 ml) water
  • 1 1/2 cups (375 ml) sugar
  • 1 tablespoon (15 ml) salt
  • 1 teaspoon (5 ml) celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon (5 ml) mustard seeds

NOTE: Instead of the celery and mustard seeds, add two teaspoons of pickling spices

Method

  1. In a large pot, cook the beets in water for about 30 minutes or until tender. Cool them in cold water and peel. Transfer to a 2 litres (8 cups) jar.
  2. In a saucepan, place the eggs and cover with cold water. Bring to a boil over high heat. When the water begins to boil, cover and remove from the heat. Let stand for 12 minutes. Place the eggs in very cold water to stop the cooking. Peel the eggs and place them in the jar with the beets.
  3. In a saucepan, bring the vinegar, water, sugar, salt, and spices to a boil. Pour into the jar over the beets and eggs. Let cool and refrigerate for 24 hours. Cut the eggs in half to enjoy the colour contrast.

Now for the salad!

Pickled Egg and Beet Spinach Spring Salad (ricardocuisine.com)

Ingredients

Vinaigrette

  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons (30 ml) white wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons (30 ml) chopped fresh chives
  • 1 teaspoon (5 ml) Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon (2.5 ml) honey
  • A hint of garlic, finely chopped (I used one clove if you need a measurement)
  • Salt and pepper

Salad

  • 6 cups (1.5 litres) baby spinach
  • 6 pickled eggs, halved
  • 6 pickled beets, cut into wedges

Method

Vinaigrette

  1. In a bowl, combine all the ingredients. Season with salt and pepper.

Salad

  1. Divide the spinach among four plates. Garnish with eggs and beets. Drizzle with the vinaigrette. Adjust the seasoning.090
This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

18 thoughts on “Pickled Egg and Beet Spinach Spring Salad – A Ricardo Recipe Experience

  1. I love this kind of salad, in that in between time between root vegetable season and full on spring vegetables. And aren’t there an awfully good selection of recipes in the Ricardo Easter collection?

    • I do get a bit tired of beetroot and other root veg in the winter. When you live in Canada, the winters are long and fresh local produce is very limited. Root veggies are all that’s left at the farmer’s markets right now. The tasteless fruit and veg that gets shipped in from around the world is expensive and poor tasting.

  2. I can certifiably say I never get sick of beets. And any pickle flavour with them = good by me. It brings back memories of family dinners and the giant pickle platter my Grandma would always leave out. This salad just screams SPRING Bernice. I’ll take two bowl fulls please.

  3. Pingback: In My Kitchen – April 2015 | Dish 'n' the kitchen

Leave a Reply

