In My Kitchen – February 2015

February 2015 already. I’m really embarrassed but when I started with the title of this post I did actually type 2014 by mistake. Yes, it is 2015 and this is my first IMK post because I lost track of time in January. I had so many special things going on in my kitchen and I dropped the ball. Since it’s the 10th here today…I’m barely making the cutoff for February too. Things are getting a lot busier with my blog both in my kitchen and out in the food world and I really have to keep a better eye on those deadlines!

In My Kitchen is a fun monthly blog ‘challenge’ hosted by Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial where many bloggers from around the world share what has been going on in their kitchens. In winter I especially look forward to the posts from Australia because they are full of home grown produce, delicious barbecue, and other summery goodness.

First things first… I’m going to include a photo from January because Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen turned two! I celebrated by making this Italian Cream Cake with Pecans and Toasted Coconut.

creamcake4Italian Cream Cake 

I learned to make two meatloaves instead of one because the first one disappeared before I could even snap one photo!

meatloaf1Pork Meatloaf with Bacon, Thyme, and Bacon

I’ve continued experimenting with cocktails and making my own fruit syrups. This one is pink grapefruit. There’s a high probability of gin being included in this cocktail.008These gorgeous San Marzano tomatoes made all the difference in this lentil dish with chorizo and harissa.tomatoesI put ‘Pucker’, the new cookbook from local food blogger and Calgary Herald writer Gwendolyn Richards to good use. So far every recipe that I have made from this book has been ridiculously tasty.puckercollage

Speaking of ‘Pucker’, I discovered my dad really like marmalade during our last visit back home. I bought a huge box of Meyer lemons and made my very first batch of marmalade. It sure is a lot of work to slice them all so thinly.IMG_20150205_103623Hubby has been busy in my kitchen too! Here he is checking the mash temperature on latest batch of beer with the help of our local beer expert Duchess.IMG_20150111_120734I’m going to finish up with something special that wasn’t in my kitchen for very long. This prune and pecan scroll from local bakery Sidewalk Citizen. Everything I have eaten from Sidewalk Citizen has been amazing, there is nothing that this man, Aviv Fried, cannot bake. I often wonder how many proposals he gets per month. Celia, if you were to visit me in Calgary this is the first place I would take you. IMG_20150129_120726

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

17 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – February 2015

  1. Ooh I am feeling the love in that Italian cream cake and that prune scroll! I am also a huge fan of marmalades. Not only are they lovely on toast or fresh bread any time of the day, they are terrific in bread and butter puddings and slices and the odd curry! Love your blog Bernice 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday to your blog – your cake looks and sounds like the perfect way to celebrate! Grapefruit syrup – genius idea – makes me long for hot day, sitting on the porch and sipping…

  3. Oh my goodness, how good does that scroll look! I can almost taste it from the photo! Happy blogaversary to you – what a gorgeous cake you’ve made to celebrate it! Your pink grapefruit syrup is crying out for booze – I can just see it in a champagne cocktail. And I can’t agree more – San Marzano tomatoes are worth every cent of their expensive price tag, because they make dishes so much better! 🙂

    • I know Celia! I’m waiting for you to try and create a recipe for the scroll so I can just follow along 🙂 Hmmm champagne cocktail..sounds interesting. I was going to go for a beer based cocktail but it didn’t go as planned!

  4. that cake just look incredible, and I love the syrups – I’ve done blood orange and blackcurrant recently, but I can just imagine pink grapefruit, and yes absolutely with gin! Great work on the marmalade too, I generally end up with chunky ones just because the chopping is easier 🙂
    Beck

  5. Congratulations on your blog’s 2 year birthday, Bernice! I think Italian Cream Cake sounds like a marvelous way to celebrate that milestone. 🙂 Thanks for the link to your meatloaf recipe, too.

Leave a Reply

