Italian Cream Cake – Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen Turns Two!

Oh gosh! It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve made a cake…much too long in fact. Every celebration deserves a cake in my opinion and today is no exception…Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen turns two today!

I am constantly amazed at how much I have learned over these past two years. It’s basically been one huge learning curve right from the get go because it isn’t always easy for me to express myself artistically and literally.  I’ve always been jealous of my sisters and how darn crafty they are and I’ve never thought of myself as ‘crafty’ or ‘artsy’ in any way. Through blogging I have found my creative side and it brings me such great joy. Another perk? I’ve met so many like minded and talented people who are either part of the Calgary food scene or fellow bloggers. While knowing local foodies is great for keeping on top of the ever growing food scene here in Calgary, getting (and giving) encouragement, support, and sharing ideas with fellow bloggers have been pivotal in my blog’s success.

That leaves me with the most important people to me as a blogger…all 921 of you. Without readers who get inspired and comment on my posts, blogging would be a lot less fun. It’s strange but I never really started this to get people to follow me and I never really expected anyone to read my blog at all. Yet reading that first post comment and seeing that first ‘like’ was a definitely a thrill. I am so thankful and surprised that so many people care about what I have to say.

It’s been an amazing year and that calls for a CAKE!creamcake2

Italian Cream Cake (from Melissa’s Southern Style Kitchen)

Ingredients you’ll need:
2 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 cup [2 sticks] salted butter, softened
1 1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp pure almond extract
5 large eggs
1 cup whole buttermilk
14 oz package sweetened flaked coconut, divided
1 1/2 cup pecan pieces toasted, divided
Frosting:
2 [8] oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup [2 sticks] butter, softened
2 lb powdered sugar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp pure almond extract
reserved coconut; toasted

1/2 cup reserved toasted pecans cake

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Butter and flour 3 [9] inch round cake pans or spray with baking spray. Set aside.  Sift the flour, baking soda and baking powder together.  In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together the softened butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, pure vanilla and almond extracts.  Beat until creamy and light beige in color, around 3-4 minutes  Add the eggs 1 at a time beating well after each addition.  Add the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the buttermilk.  After all has been added, increase the mixer speed and beat until fully combined. Mix in 1/2 of the coconut and 1 cup of toasted pecans by hand.

Divide the batter evenly between the cake pans.  Bake for 25-30 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes back clean.  Cool completely on a cooling rack.

To make the frosting:
Cream together the cream cheese and butter until light, fluffy and pale yellow in color.  Add the vanilla.  Gradually add the powdered sugar, beating until creamy and smooth.

Line the edge of the cake plate with wax paper strips.  [Tip: If storing the cake, place onto a cake round to make it easier to move from fridge to cake plate for serving]  Frost the cake between the layers sprinkling each with reserved toasted pecan pieces.

Add the final layer and frost the top and sides.  Finish the sides with toasted coconut.  Decorate the top as desired with the remaining chopped pecans.  Store chilled.  Yield: 12 pieces

*note this makes a lot of frosting. You will have some left over to make cupcakes….YAY!

creamcake3

And a piece for you. Thank you so much for reading my blog. I’m looking forward to a new year and new experiences!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

17 thoughts on “Italian Cream Cake – Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen Turns Two!

  1. Happy blog birthday Bernice!!! 2 years!! She’s gonna start screaming and being a little pain in the beeeehind now! Is that what two year olds do? I know nothing about children. I assume that’s what they do 😉

    Seriously though – 2 years is a huge accomplishment. Good on ya girl. I’m excited to see what you’ll do over the next 2!

    Let them eat cake!!

  2. Pingback: In My Kitchen – February 2015 | Dish 'n' the kitchen

Leave a Reply

