Welcome to 2015…Eat Great Food!

2015_new_year
I’ve certainly milked the holiday season right down to the last second. We had a great time at the farm in Saskatchewan visiting family and living off the grid, and then finally having the last ‘holiday style’ meal for ten here on Saturday. My parents left this morning and the decorations are still up. I’m enjoying a little peace and quiet but also feeling that a second cup of coffee is in order. I wanted to write a non food related piece to start 2015. I appreciate each and every one of you who take the time to read my blog and who try the recipes. Welcome to 2015, I’m starting the year with a clean plate and a willingness to BE BETTER.

There are so many articles and blog posts out there extolling the virtues of clean eating, cleanses, and gym memberships. I’m not here to tell you that I’ve turned a new page in my life or have dedicated myself to a Paleo diet. Heck no. I like my dairy a bit too much to even consider it. Go gluten free? Nope. While it would probably not hurt me in the least, I can’t see my future without the odd croissant or baguette being involved. For real. I have nothing against any of these alternative ways of eating but I am always skeptical of those who choose to begin anew regarding these types of diets when January 1 rolls around.

I’m just going to keep on cooking food for my family. In 2015 there will be the odd vegetarian meal, the odd ‘salad for dinner’ and other such questionable hi jinx. But there will also be homemade pasta, layer cakes, and bacon. There will be bacon for sure.

So after a couple of days getting used to 2015 being NOW (hey…where’s my hoverboard?) I’ve given the subject of change and self improvement a real good ten minutes of solid thought and here’s what I came up with:

  • I could be kinder to myself and others
  • I could hug my kids more. Yes they are older and will fight it at first (If not the whole time) but it’s worth it in the end.
  • I could put myself out there more. Sure, it’s easy to hide behind my stove and my computer screen but life is more worthwhile when you have people to share it with.
  • I could learn to ignore and reflect negativity. This is tough one. I’m a naturally negative and very emotional person and to be brutally honest sometimes I think that no one likes me at all (I am also paranoid!). On the other hand I can be one of the funniest people because it’s how I deflect uncomfortable situations.
  • I need a bit more thought on what direction I want Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen to go in 2015.
  • I want to support (and be supported by) my friends and local food bloggers. I’ve always thought it was important to surround oneself with like minded people. Get a group of food bloggers together and you have a recipe for food creativity for sure.
  • I would like to get myself out there to more events and possibly do some food writing for someone other than myself. I’ve been told that I can write if I put my mind to it, though often I sell myself short.

Whew. Those weren’t easy things to admit aloud to myself and the internet universe (you). That’s about as deep as I get and fortunately it really only happens about once a year. Self improvement is never a bad thing but for change to occur you have to be able to take a good hard look at yourself in the mirror and recognize your inner flaws.

Welcome to 2015. May you make wise decisions, love with all you have, and let go of the shitty stuff holding you back from whatever it is you want to do. And stay healthy. Does that cover it?

Oh yes, and eat great food!

Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to 2015…Eat Great Food!

Leave a Reply

