In My Kitchen – December 2014 / YYC Bloggers Sweet Holiday Blog Hop

It feels so good to be back! November really just flew by and by the time I even thought about writing a November ‘In My Kitchen’ post I had already passed the deadline. Today is the tenth here in Canada and so I’ll squeak one in for the December deadline, just barely. So many things happen in our kitchens in December and I’m so happy to be a part of this world wide peek into December kitchens around the world. If you would like to know more and maybe even participate, head over to visit Celia at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial and find out what In My Kitchen is all about.

I’ll start off with a proud moment or two. My youngest son had a great football season this fall; the Bantam Colts won their division in the city of Calgary finals. It was a spur of the moment decision but I decided to throw a party for the whole team. At one point I had 24, 13-15 year old boys in my house. We had each of them bring $5 and I bought seven extra large pizzas which they demolished within minutes. One of the other team moms made this delicious chocolate cake with a couple of hours notice. Later, at the team banquet my son was awarded the ‘Heart and Desire’ memorial trophy which goes to the player with the most spirit and love for the game. He played every game, attended every practice, and always gave 110%.  It was a proud mom moment for sure.

coltsOne project I’ve been wanting to do for a while is make cheese. When I found this little kit for making cheese curds I just couldn’t resist. My kids love cheese curds, especially when they are on poutine! The cheese turned out well; perfectly squeaky and fresh tasting. I like that I can control the amount of salt I add in at the end because cheese is generally really high in sodium.cheesecurdsGreat news! I’ve finally gotten over my fear of making marshmallows.  I’m not sure what the problem was but now that I’ve made them I have all sorts of ideas floating around in my head. I made home made S’mores for the football banquet, then I made Marshmallow Topped Brownies for our local food bloggers bake sale. I think the kid’s teachers will be getting home made marshmallows for Christmas presents.marshmallowsAnd then…my baby turned 14. I just can’t get over how fast children grow. It sure didn’t seem like time flew by when they were younger! He doesn’t like cake so I made him this Peanut Butter Pie.peanutbutterpie2I received 3 lbs of Little Potatoes on my doorstep and got to work figuring out some appropriate recipes. I was feeling extra creative that day and was very pleased with how the photos turned out.


ingredientsLittle Potato and Chorizo Hash with Sweet Potatoes046Twice Baked Little Potatoes

This month, I’ve participated in the Food Blogger Cookie exchange. I made Chocolate Ancho Chili cookies and sent them out to three other bloggers. In return I received three packages of delicious baking that I didn’t have to do myself.cookieexchangeWhen I was a kid we would always have an advent calendar to help us keep track of the days leading up to ‘the Big Day’. Funny how time went a lot slower back then! It’s been years since I’ve had an advent calendar so I was really excited to find this International Craft Beer Advent Calendar at my local bottle shop. It makes relaxing at the end of those busy December days a lot easier!beercalIf you are in Australia, you should try to hunt down a bottle of this Bridge Road Brewery ‘Fat Man, Red Suit, Big Sack’. It is my favourite brew so far and it was the perfect brew to sip while writing out Christmas cards.

This month I am also participating in my very first ‘Blog Hop’. There are delicious Christmas baking posts from eleven local bloggers organized by Fareen at Food Mamma. Thanks Fareen!

I hope you all have a joyous Christmas holiday season full of great food, family, and friends…see you in 2015!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

11 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – December 2014 / YYC Bloggers Sweet Holiday Blog Hop

    • I bought the beer calendar at our local bottleshop…just a few blocks down from our house but I do know that Calgary Co op and Willow Park carried them. Sometimes it’s best to order them ahead of time because they go fast!
      I tried to get a Phillips brewing calendar last week but I would’ve had to drive across the city. There is also another one from Parallel 49.

  1. Congratulations, Bernice, on your son’s achievements – sports are a great place to learn about life! Your baking and cheesemaking this month are impressive – those little potatoes are perfection! Do have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Hi Bernice, love the cheesemaking accessories. Peter and I attended a full day soft cheese workshop recently… we made camembert, feta and all sorts! Love your little potato bites too. Seasons eatings and thanks for sharing.

  3. Congratulations to your son and his team! And you always makes me laugh Bernice, who else would find a beer advent calendar? I hope you bought two.. 🙂 The potato and chorizo hash look delicious, and kudos to the mom who was able to turn out a decorated cake with just two hours notice! Hope Christmas was joyous and all the very best for 2015! 🙂

Leave a Reply

