Little Potato Chorizo and Sweet Potato Hash

Making a meal and eating it together with my family has always been my number one priority. We’ve always been a busy family; active in sport, drama, and community. Sometimes having at least one meal a day together is a bit of a stretch and more often than not you’ll find us just finishing up dinner around 9 pm.  We’ve adapted by watching our portions and eating lighter meals in order not to go to bed with full bellies.

Mondays nights are relatively activity free, though I’ve been volunteering at our local YMCA for the last three years. My shift falls during the time when I would normally be making dinner at home.  Once in a while my daughter helps out by offering to make dinner and on those nights I feel like I truly have a night off.  On other Monday nights I make dinner when I get home because I’m terrible at planning out meals ahead of time. One really simple dinner that has recently become a favourite in our house is this Potato, Chorizo, and Sweet Potato Hash. It’s something I can chop up and throw into the oven before I leave and it’s also easy enough for my daughter to make while also practicing her knife skills. One other bonus… it’s really tasty too!

littlepotatohash

I love using halved little potatoes in this recipe because they are the perfect size. Once you’ve tried potatoes and chorizo together you will want to make this dish over and over again like my family does. Sometimes I add some chicken thighs to make the dish a bit more substantial but they aren’t necessary. ingredients

Little Potato Chorizo and Sweet Potato Hash

Ingredients

3 dried spicy chorizo links; diced

1 large red onion; roughly chopped

1 red pepper; roughly chopped

4 cloves garlic; minced

1 medium orange sweet potato; diced

1 lb Little Creamer Potatoes or baby potatoes; halved

1 tbsp salt

1 tbsp smokey Spanish Paprika

1 tbsp ancho chile powder

olive oil

8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (optional)ingredientsbowl

Method

Pre-heat oven to 375 F.  Slice the chorizo links in quarters lengthwise, then dice them. Roughly chop the onion, pepper, sweet potato, and mince the garlic. Halve the potatoes and add the spices and mix all of the ingredients together in a large bowl. Bear in mind that as the chorizo cooks, it will release a lot of oil so just use enough olive oil to completely coat the pieces. If you are adding chicken to this dish, season it then place in the bottom of a 11 x 7 inch glass or ceramic baking pan and cover it with the rest of the ingredients. Bake in the oven for half an hour, then remove and give the ingredients a stir. Bake for another half an hour until all of the pieces are fully cooked. The dish is extra delicious when you let it get a bit caramelized.littlepotatohash1

I was really excited to be able to use these great Little Potato Company ‘Baby Boomer’ potatoes in this delicious dinner hash. Though I received the product to sample it is a product that I use on a regular basis and am proud to feature on my blog.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

5 thoughts on “Little Potato Chorizo and Sweet Potato Hash

  1. Pingback: The Weekly FBC News for December 8th, 2014 | Food Bloggers of Canada

  2. Pingback: 81 Quick and Easy Weeknight Dinners

Leave a Reply

