Bourbon Peach Pie

Oh dear. I can’t believe I almost totally forgot to write a post for what was probably the best pie I have ever eaten. I got so excited that I shared it multiple times on any social media outlet that I could, in between bites of pie….until it was all gone. If you are following me on Facebook, it was there. If you follow me on Instagram, oh yeah it was definitely there. This pie even made it to Twitter (see what I did there?). But then I saw a post from ‘Rolling Spoon‘ blog and being that it was about bourbon peach hand pies…well I kind of got intimidated and forgot about posting this beauty all together.bourbonpeach

If you think about the seasons and all the produce available for pies you can appropriate each fruit/vegetable by order of availability throughout the season. Rhubarb is a popular Spring choice, followed by Strawberry, then Raspberry’s and any other berries. In mid-late summer we get the stone fruits: Apricots, Plums, Nectarines, and Peaches. Peach pie is one that I’ve made maybe one time but now that I know peaches pair so well with bourbon (and it was an Oprah ‘light bulb moment’)…this pie will become a yearly tradition.

I bought a bottle of Knobb Creek Bourbon shortly after we returned from New Orleans. There are quite a few Southern cocktails that involve the liquor and they are so delicious! Of course it all makes sense now; peaches are also considered a ‘Southern’ thing and I always say that a food’s natural proximity to another food often creates a natural pairing. Bourbon and Peaches. Do it!

Begin with the pastry. I used the same pastry recipe as I used in my Blueberry Lattice Pie with Lemon Zest and Spruce Tips because it works well for me. If you have your own favourite pastry recipe by all means use it!pastryThen pit the peaches and cut them up into relatively even pieces. Mix up the filling using this wonderful recipe from Gimme Some Oven. I swear, even looking at it today is making my mouth water.peachesAdd the filling to the pastry shell and seal it all up fancy like.peachpieThen devour. Make sure to tell the kids there’s booze in there so that you don’t have to share.097Just kidding! He’s 20 now so he can enjoy the awesomeness that is bourbon.

Make Peach Bourbon Pie Now (Gimme Some Oven)

Ingredients

  • 5 cups thinly sliced (and peeled, if desired) peaches (about 6 or 7 medium)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour (or thickener of your choice)
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • pinch of nutmeg
  • 2 tsp. lemon zest
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/4 c bourbon
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • milk and sugar, for crust

Plus an empty pie shell, enough for a double crust. Use your own recipe or get one here.

How to do it:

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour (or thickener of your choice. I think I may use cornstarch next time), white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and lemon zest. Add the peaches and toss to combine. Add the lemon juice and bourbon, and toss until evenly coated.

Roll out the bottom half of the pie dough on a floured surface into a 12″ circle and put into a 9″ pie pan. Pour the peach filling into the pie crust and remember it’s okay to mound as the fruit will shrink slightly as it cooks. Cut the butter into small pieces and sprinkle evenly over the peaches (I forgot butter, it’s all good).

If using an upper crust, roll out the second half of the dough and place it on top of the pie for the upper crust. Pinch the edges of pie together, and shape into a ridge and scallop, if desired. Then brush the crust with a tablespoon or so of milk, and sprinkle with sugar. Use a knife to cut a few slits in the middle of the dough for baking. OR get all out fancy and make a lattice crust like I did on my Blueberry Lattice Pie.

Bake at 400 degree F oven for 30 min. Then reduce the heat to 350 and bake for an additional 25-30 minutes, until crust is golden brown and filling is bubbling. If the crust begins to brown too much, loosely cover it with aluminum foil while baking.

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

5 thoughts on “Bourbon Peach Pie

  1. Pingback: Round Up a Pie on Pi Day

  2. Pingback: 10 Ways to use up Peaches ~ Alisha Enid

Leave a Reply

