Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce – On Pork Chops

The daylight hours are shortening and I have picked the last bunch of rhubarb from my very productive plants. Since I’ve been busy making  jam, pickles, and preserving right now I was also in the right frame of mind for doing something special with the last of the rhubarb. Not that Rhubarb and Strawberry jam or Rhubarb Muffins aren’t special, I just wanted to try something…new. I’ve never made my own barbecue sauce before and I was thinking that maybe the tartness of the rhubarb might bring something special to a home made sauce. After a quick google search I found out I wasn’t the only one who thought so. This really cool recipe on the Allrecipes website had rave reviews so my decision to give making my own Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce a try was an easy one. This recipe also uses no tomatoes (for you tomato free people out there) and doesnt rely on using ketchup, which many recipes do. I think that’s cheating.sauce

I’m not going to show you lovely pictures of bubbling brown goo because that is what the barbecue sauce looked like while it was cooking on the stove. Plus we all know what rhubarb looks like right? (read: I forgot to take a before and during shot!). I’ve been dreaming up ways to use this slightly spicy and sweet, tart barbeque sauce.  I thought it would go with pork best of all so I had hubby grill me up some pork chops and slather the sauce on while they were grilling. He doesn’t always do such a photogenic job while barbecuing but since I told him these were for a blog post he upped his game a bit.porkchopI’m not sure what to do with the sauce next but thought of pulled pork are running through my head. Do you ever get a dish in your mind that won’t leave until you make it?

Plus…a thought about the word ‘Barbecue’.  I’ve always thought that there was a Canadian and an American spelling of the word like there are for so many other words (neighbour/neighbor). Sometimes I just assume that the computer spell checker is just biased towards American spelling but today I actually looked this up because it intrigued me. It seems that the shortening of the word Barbecue to BBQ confuses some people (myself included) into thinking that there is an alternative spelling to the word and it includes a ‘q’ as in Barbeque. So now we know the presence of a ‘q’ in place of ‘c’ in the word Barbecue is not correct.

Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce 

Ingredients

  • 4 stalksfresh rhubarb, trimmed and chopped
  • 1 (12 fl oz) cancola
  • 1 tsp almond flavouring
  • 1 cupapple cider vinegar
  • 1sweet onion , chopped
  • 1 cupbrown sugar
  • 1/4 cupCrosby’s molasses
  • 1 tablespoonWorcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoonground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoonground allspice
  • 2 star anise
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoonground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoongarlic powder

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a saucepan; bring to a boil, and reduce heat to low. Simmer until rhubarb and onion are very soft, about 45 minutes, stirring often to prevent the sauce from scorching.
  2. Cool the sauce, then place into a blender, pulse a few times to get the sauce moving before leaving it on to purée. Purée in batches if necessary until you achieve a smooth sauce.
  3. Use immediately for grilling (try it on pork chops or chicken) or preserve the sauce in jars for later using the hot water bath method.

porkchop1

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

9 thoughts on “Rhubarb Barbecue Sauce – On Pork Chops

Leave a Reply

