Oh My Dog BBQ! Part Deux

Oh My Dog. This restaurant is so close to us that I just couldn’t ignore the call of the hot dogs. After my hot dog experience last year the owner invited me back for another try.  I waited a good while and brought company, my ever hungry and hot dog loving younger son. I remember that the fries were home made and excellent so we ordered the poutine to share again. As I remembered, it was quite delicious and I couldn’t stop eating it although I swore that I would only have a couple of forkfuls when we ordered…poutine
Though I have heard great things about their burgers we just had to have a couple of hot dogs. Kid number one ordered the Texan which really surprised me because I expected him to order something bigger like the pulled pork or mac n cheese hot dog. The texan comes with BBQ sauce, cheese, and diced red onions.texan

This time the BLT hot dog caught my eye. It’s pretty self explanatory really. The hot dog is topped with bacon, lettuce, and tomato. I thought it was a nice, tasty combination but if the toppings were diced it would have been a bit more visually appealing. Diced tomatoes and bacon with finely shredded lettuce would elevate this dog to a whole other level for sure.BLT hotdogOur second experience at Oh My Dog BBQ surpassed the first. The buns and toppings were nice and fresh and most importantly the hot dogs were premium, juicy, and plump. After we had finished eating I spoke with the owner for a bit and he explained that they experimented with a couple of cooking techniques for the dogs. The dogs are steamed and grilled but for much less time now so that they do not lose all their juices and become dry and wrinkly. Makes sense to me!

 

Oh My Dog BBQ on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

5 thoughts on “Oh My Dog BBQ! Part Deux

  1. Pingback: 2014 Restaurants in Review | Dish 'n' the kitchen

Leave a Reply

