In My Kitchen July 2014

So far July has been quite an eventful month in our house. We started out the month with a lost dog. With the kids home from school and friends stopping by to ‘hang out’ (we don’t play anymore because we are teenagers!) our back gate got left open and our very curious Louis went for a tour of the neighbourhood that ended at Animal Services. Since it was closing time there were no photos posted online on their website and the office was closed the next day, because it was Canada Day. After an exhaustive search and twitter/facebook campaign we had some hunches that he was safely at Animal Services and went to check anyway (despite the closure) because we needed to know for sure that he was safe. He was and we were able to have a decent time at our friend’s Canada Day barbeque while he served his time. I made these fun Red Velvet Canada Day Ice Cream Sandwiches to bring along to the party. mapleleaf

The next day we picked up a very tired and hoarse Louis from Animal Services. He was very happy to be free though I’m not sure if he served enough time to learn his lesson. Sorry for the bad photo but this was him in the back seat on his way home!louis
I’ve been watching far too many Fifa World Cup matches and not spending enough time in the kitchen. I heard about Brazil’s national drink The Caipirinha via twitter and thought it would be a good idea to make myself one, you know, for research purposes! The Caipirinha is a very rustic daiquiri made with ice, brown sugar, a lime, and cachaça.   Cachaça is a rum made from the fermented juice of sugar cane (instead of molasses). If you take care to do the drink properly it can be very delicious, though it is more of a sipping drink because it is quite strong. To make one, cut up a lime into 8 smaller pieces and place in your cocktail shaker. Add 3 tbsp of brown sugar and muddle it until you think you’ve been muddling for a ridiculously long amount of time. Say about 15 minutes. You will have lots of mangled lime bits and some really nice syrup. Next, add a couple of shots of cachaça and a whole lotta ice and shake to mix it all up. Strain into a glass. You won’t appear to have a lot of drink in your glass. This is normal. I retrieved all the ice I used from the shaker and put it in my glass and then picked out all of the lime bits. Then I strained the rest into my glass again. Add more ice and sip slowly as you yell at the Fifa referees. Make sure your husband doesn’t come home to find you passed out on the sofa. Try to explain how to say Caipirinha (Kai-Pee-Reen-Ya) and Cachaça (Ka-Shah-Suh).caiparinhaNow sitting on my counter waiting patiently is this ‘Poutine Kit’. How ridiculous. What it really is, is a cheese curd kit and additional pouch of gravy mix. I was a bit disappointed to see that it was regular gravy mix and not the customary ‘St.Hubert’ sauce mix. Ask any poutine aficionado and they will tell you that you do not put gravy on poutine, only sauce. I don’t have the time or fridge space to make the curds before we leave on holiday so it will have to be a project for a later date. Of course I will still need to make the fries the old school way as they weren’t included in the package.poutineAnd a final thought for those hot July days…in the Northern Hemisphere anyway…

Cannoli Ice Cream!!!icecream2A huge thanks to Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting this fun monthly peek into kitchens around the world. If you would like to join or just drool over her amazing bread and chocolate posts head on over to Fig Jam and Lime Cordial.

 

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

22 thoughts on “In My Kitchen July 2014

  1. Oh My The Caipirinha is my favourite drink. I discovered it after going to a Brazilian BBQ restaurant. I crush 2 whole quartered limes, add sugar syrup and the Cachaça and drink! No one seems to know them out so I had to buy my own rum and make them at home. Thanks for sharing this month! Liz x

    • true story: I’ve never made red velvet cookies before and I didn’t know the batter was so runny. I had expected to be able to roll them out and cut them using a cookie cutter. While hubby was out buying me a Maple leaf cookie cutter at the craft store (oh yes, he did!) I tried piping the batter into leaf shape. Of course while they baked they became formless blobs. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do. Then he came home and said, ‘ why don’t you just bake a whole bunch and THEN cut them out?’ So I did 🙂 He’s a rockstar and I was half brain dead from worrying about the damn dog all night.

  2. So happy and heart warming to hear you got your lovely family dog back, I know how special they are. We lost our lovely family dog this week and we are all devastated. Hot days are always a great excuse to eat more ice cream. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • oh no! so sorry. lost or passed on?
      Of course that was my first thought when Louis went missing. That he was eaten by a coyote or hit by a car.It would definitely be devastating.

  3. Poor Louis, I am glad he is ok. That ice cream looks divine. My post is very late as I am new to what’s in your kitchen? It is up now if you would like to read it. Have a great week. Emma.

  4. Sooooo glad you & your pup were reunited, Bernice… a huge worry and a huge relief! Loved your rum drink concoction, and also your cheese curd-making kit. (I adore poutine, but our local stores don’t sell cheese curds.) And cannoli ice cream? Swoon….

Leave a Reply

