Shrimp Lentil and Turmeric Dumplings

After my dumpling lesson last weekend with Foodisms of The Office Broccoli I felt like I could stuff anything into those little skins and get away with it. As I was driving home I was hatching a plan to create an ‘appetizer’ entry for the Canadian Lentil Revelations Challenge using Beluga lentils and creating some other colours and flavours with cilantro and turmeric. I can’t believe how super healthy these are for you…the low GI, high fibre/protein combo of lentils and shrimp with the anti oxidant/anti inflammatory benefits of turmeric make me feel like I have goodness flowing through my veins. Heath benefits aside, this is actually one appetizer that also tastes amazing and really…how many foods taste good and are actually healthy for you?insideI began by cooking 125 grams of lentils in 2 cups of water for about 25 minutes. When they were just soft I rinsed them and set them aside to cool while I got the rest of the ingredients for the filling ready.

ingredientsI added the shrimp last so that it would stay relatively cool for the whole time I was making the dumplings. I made sure to have my dumpling making station organized and ready so that I could start making dumplings as soon as the filling was mixed.mixture1Filling dumplings is pretty mindless work. It helps to have a friend to chat with or to have the radio on so that you can get the job done as soon as possible. If you keep your mind busy, the task will be done in no time at all.

dumplingsAfter I had made a half cooking tray of dumplings I set a large pot of water to boil and lined a steamer basket with cabbage leaves.

steamed3The half tray of dumplings allowed me to steam one batch of dumplings, then pan fry the rest. In both versions you can tell they are done by the way the skins change and become slightly translucent when they are ready.  steamed2I thought that the taste of the dumplings was slightly better in the fried version.fried3To fry the dumplings in the pan, make sure each dumpling has a thin film of oil on it’s bottom and heat on med-low heat until the bottoms become crispy brown. Add water by the tablespoon (maybe about 4 tbsp) and put the lid on so they steam a bit. Add water sporadically about 2-3 times until the dumpling wrappers change from dull to glossy. This maybe takes about ten minutes.fried2

Shrimp Lentil and Turmeric Dumplings

1 package of shrimp; peeled and deveined then roughly chopped

1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

1/4 cup chopped spring onions

pinky sized knob fresh turmeric very finely diced

1/2 cup cooked beluga lentils

splash Chinese cooking wine

splash soy sauce

splash fish sauce

egg yolk

pepper

rice flour for thickening mixture. Add by tbsp until you think the mixture will hold nicely.

dumpling skins

 

 

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

30 thoughts on “Shrimp Lentil and Turmeric Dumplings

    • I had to kick the dogs out so I could use the good light on the floor. You only make that mistake once 😉

      I had fun, I felt very inspired…three of my favourite ingredients; shrimp, turmeric, and cilantro. YUM!
      The sauce was sitting there on the table for a while and Shaun came home to have some dumplings around 4. I think the chili’s had steeped a bunch by then and it was quite hot!

    • oh geez. In Regina? Hmmmm. well I found them at Community Natural foods. So a health food grocery store? I first looked for the lentils at bulk barn but no luck there. Been a while since I shopped in Regina 🙂
      A quick google coughed up Dad’s Organic Market and they have a form that you can fill out to see if they have your grocery needs in stock. I don’t know why they just don’t list stuff. Anyway, try there and good luck. I lucked out on the second try Beluga lentils are sometimes hard to find but I wanted to use them because they hold their shape better than the others.
      If you find fresh turmeric for the love of God, use gloves and an old cutting board. you could try the recipe with half a teaspoon of ground turmeric as well.

  1. Pingback: Shrimp Lentil and Turmeric Dumplings | kidbitz

  2. Pingback: Feta, Pea and Dill Quiche with Lentil and Sweet Potato ‘Pastry’ | ASTROTAS

  3. Pingback: Warm Lentil and White Bean Salad with Bacon and Roasted Grape Tomatoes | Dish 'n' the kitchen

  4. Pingback: Lunar New Year Recipes - Cynful Kitchen

Leave a Reply

