In My Kitchen – February 2014

I can’t believe it! February is flying by already and it is already the tenth of the month. I meant to get In My Kitchen done early this month but it just does not seem to happen for me. Sorry Celia, I hope I’m still on time. I’ve been watching the Olympic coverage a lot. I was just as proud to see those Aussies walk in as I was the Canadians and I wish them all the best. As of today we are in a three way medal tie for first place medal count. I’m so proud!

It’s been so cold lately that I am getting into the habit of having some fresh flowers on my counter at all times. They remind me that Spring is really just around the corner. Believe it or not those tulips are locally produced. There is a Dutch man growing them in his barn during the winter months. I buy them at the Calgary Farmer’s Market and they last for nearly a week because they are so fresh.flowers

This is shaping up to be a busy week. I have so much to do before we go to New Orleans…yes, we’re heading down to the Big Easy in a couple of days to escape this nasty cold snap.

booksI really can’t wait! Of course I made a list of foods that I need to try while we are there. Char-grilled and Fresh Oysters , Muffaletta, Pecan Pie, Beignets, Turtle Soup, Jambalaya, Gumbo, Etouffe, Po’ Boys, and all sorts of crab and craw fish. I made some NOLA style BBQ Shrimp to get an idea of the flavours…

BBQ1And since tomorrow is my birthday…a delicious carrot cake (a couple of days early)

carrotcake3And a birthday present from me, to me. It came all the way from Jordan! I’ve been waiting to get this mug for my collection for a long time. We were in Egypt in 2008

021I had an interesting food find at the farmer’s market on Friday. Does anyone know what to do with it? I’ll need to investigate once we get back from holidays.

027And finally two of my favourite ways of staying warm. Baking bread:

038And drinking tea. This one is part of a Ginger Liqueur spiked cocktail I made up.

hotcocktail1Huge thanks to Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting this peek into kitchens around the world.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

16 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – February 2014

  1. Sweetened chestnut purée – one of the major ingredients in the Parisian dessert mont blanc – chestnut purée in a meringue nest topped with cream and sometimes with a drizzle of chocolate sauce or shaved chocolate. Yum! Love the spring flowers!

  2. You had me with the flowers- and then the shrimp and biscuits!
    Have a great time in NOLA- and eat till your heart’s content!
    The best part of travel is trying the food- and New Orleans has some of the best food. I love jambalaya- mmm!
    And the bread and tea- I agree with you completely- great for keeping warm- and great for keeping sane, as well! 🙂

  3. G’day and love your flowers Bernice that brightened my day and your shrimps and biscuits look delish!
    I had to laugh re the Cairo and Starbucks…spent some time there but never saw a Star Bucks, so perhaps is a novelty cup indeed! Thanks for this month’s kitchen view!
    Cheers! Joanne

    • We saw ONE when we were there. I’m sure our driver would have fought the 4 lanes of insane traffic to get there if we’d have asked but we didn’t. The driving there is pretty crazy and not worth a Starbucks coffee.

  4. We had a ball in N’Awlins!! Soul food outside the French Quarter was our best food experience! A word of advice, keep your possessions close, I have travelled far and wide, this was the only place I ever got scammed!

  5. Happy Birthday, Bernice! How amazing to be able to buy such gorgeous flowers when it’s so cold outside! Hope you have a wonderful time in New Orleans, and I’m glad you found another Starbucks mug for your collection (I remember reading about them on your blog before!). Your carrot cake looks fantastic! I turned my chestnut puree into soup. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Celia! I got to go to New Orleans for a birthday/valentine’s treat so I’m just getting around to the blog now.
      thanks for the tip on the chestnut puree. I certainly have a lot of it so soup may be a good option to use it up.

  6. Chestnut puree – yum! Delia Smith has a wonderful Buche de Noel recipe that uses chestnut puree as the filling which means it isn’t anywhere near as sweet as the usual chocolate buttercream. Thinned with a bit of a favourite liqueur and then covered in whipped bream and drizzled with dark chocolate to make the “bark” effect this is the adults dessert on Christmas Day at our house. But you don’t have to wait until Christmas to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

