Cheesebuns

I don’t know about you but my kids are always after me to make them grilled cheese or mac ‘n’ cheese or anything cheesy at all. I’ve picked up cheese buns at the store for a treat before and hubby makes them into school lunch sandwiches by slicing them in half and inserting the toppings. They seem to like anything different in their lunches and I don’t blame them.

I remember (way back) when I was a kid and the never ending tedium of school lunch boxes was an every day day occurrence. Besides my mom’s fabulous home made bread I had an apple and if I was really lucky, a cookie. I say lucky but what I meant was I had a cookie only if I baked it myself. My mom makes super bread but just can’t seem to bake anything else.  Most of the time I would only have meat in my sandwiches if there was left over roast beef or ham as my mother never bought sandwich meat. More often than not I had a cheese sandwich.

These days the kids have it much better. I do buy juice boxes for them and the odd granola bar and of course I bake a lot so they often go to school with some real gems in their boxes. Still, that’s a long amount of time to eat sandwiches for lunch and they still get bored. Twelve years of sandwiches!

As I was checking out another blog, Because I like Chocolate, I came upon a lovely photo of a cheese bun and realized that the kids would really appreciate a lunch time pick me up. They were actually really easy to make…and they make great sandwiches!

cheesebuns2

Basically you make a similar dough to cinnamon buns but spread some melted butter and a whole bunch of grated cheese over the dough before you roll it up. I also added some garlic powder but kid number two informed me she preferred not to have garlic breath at school so next time I’ll skip it.

cheesebuns

cheesebuns3

Cheddar Cheese Buns (from Because I like Chocolate)
Makes 12-15 buns

Ingredients

Dough

1 tbsp. instant yeast
2 tbsp. honey
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/3 cup grated cheddar cheese
3 cups bread flour
1 tsp. salt
warm water, as needed (about 1 cup)

Toppings

2 cups grated cheddar cheese
1/4 cup butter, melted

garlic powder?

Instructions

1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine the yeast and honey with a splash of warm water. When the yeast starts to foam (about 5 minutes), add in the remaining ingredients. Turn the mixer on low and begin adding more water as necessary to bring the dough together. You want the dough to be slightly soft and a bit sticky.
2. Knead for 5-7 minutes or until the dough becomes smooth and elastic.
3. Place the kneaded dough in a well-oiled bowl, cover and allow it to rise until double. About an hour (or less if your kitchen is really warm). I usually preheat my oven at 200 F for about 3 minutes, then shut if off and do my proof in the oven.
4. When the dough has doubled, punch it down. Stretch it into a rectangle on an oiled or floured countertop. Drizzle the melted butter over top and sprinkle on the 2 cups of grated cheese. Start at the edge closest to you and begin to roll the dough into a log, keeping it nice and tight.
5. Slice the dough into about 1″ thick pieces and place them on a parchment lined cookie sheet.
6. Cover and allow the buns to rise again until doubled, about 30-40 minutes.
7. Bake at 350F for 20 minutes. Cool slightly and enjoy.  Or, if you are like my kids, don’t wait for them to cool, just burn your mouth with the hot cheese. Just kidding. Don’t do that.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

11 thoughts on “Cheesebuns

Leave a Reply

