Bellini Kitchen Master – Lemon Meringue Pie

I was sent a Bellini Kitchen Master to test out for a lengthy time period. After various trials and tribulations I decided to go all out and put the machine to the ultimate test…Lemon Meringue Pie! This recipe would use the BKM for all three components; pastry, lemon custard, and meringue. For all the pastry and lemon custard I used the recipes provided in the BKM manual and for the meringue I used this recipe from Cheating With Bellini.

062

Here’s how the BKM did:

Pastry Wow! super fast and in my opinion, the coolest thing about the BKM.

066Lemon Custard: Delicious flavour, but in the end too runny for a pie. I think having an accurate measurement in the recipe booklet would be useful, instead of just 4 whole eggs, 2 yolks. Or maybe I needed to add another yolk.

084Meringue: The meringue recipe called for caster sugar, which is not readily available in my area…not too worry though, you can add regular sugar to the machine and grind in until it is super fine. Just make sure the rubber seal is installed on the lid so sugar doesn’t fly everywhere! The recipe made a perfectly fine Italian style meringue though I personally like it a bit more fluffy and tall.

017 021

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

