Rockin’ Bailey’s Thumbprint Cookies

Have you seen all the different kinds of thumbprint cookies? So many ideas, so little time…

On Tuesday I managed to wheedle my way out of a very painful Christmas band concert where kid number one played trombone. Instead I joined up with some local fellow bloggers at Café Gravity for some Christmas festivities. Am I am bad mom? I don’t know…It’s not like you can actually pick him out of 45 kids making noise you know. I redeemed myself on the next evening when both my husband and I attended his ‘School of Rock’ concert. I guess you could say the kid is a bit musical as he’s learned to play trombone, cello, bass guitar, and now this year guitar. Last year was his first year taking School of Rock, when he chose it as an option instead of say, French or Shop class. His band was called ‘Toxic Walruses’ and he wore a box painted like a zombie walrus on his head. This year I’m happy to report that he went ‘boxless’ with his band, The Hard Boiled Eggs. Nice name hey? I like to think my food influenced the decision on the band name.

Anyway, at the Blogger Christmas meetup I had the opportunity to sit and talk with Julie van Rosendaal and Elizabeth Chorney-Booth of Rollingspoon. They’ve combined to make one really great blog about food mixed with a little rock ‘n’ roll. Elizabeth was particularly excited about a new risotto recipe she had received from the Bangles but I was more excited about the delicious sounding Bailey’s Irish Cream Thumbprint cookies she had brought as a treat. I didn’t have any sort of thumbprint cookie for my goodie tray yet so I was happy to find this one and keen on trying out the variation.

003I found that the dough mixed up very thick. Instead of chilling it for an hour I just went ahead and rolled it into balls. Then I stuck them in the fridge for 20 minutes before I baked them. They turned out just fine. I also found that even though I thought I made the holes deep enough I had to re-do them after I took them out of the oven.

005Let me tell you folks this is the ultimate cookie, it rocks! The Bailey’s-laced ganache that goes in the middle really adds to the flavour and makes them that extra bit more special.

baileys1Thank you so much to Elizabeth of Rollingspoon for the super recipe. I think this will be on our goodie tray for years to come.

Bailey’s Irish Cream Thumbprints
Makes 4-5 dozen cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/3 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups flour
2/3 cups cocoa
1/2 tsp salt
turbinado sugar or raw sugar

4 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped
1/4 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup Bailey’s Irish cream (plus an extra splash)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Cream the butter with the sugar until light and fluffy, then mix in the eggs and vanilla. Whisk together the flour, cocoa, and salt in another bowl, then stir into the butter mixture. Refrigerate dough for at least one hour.

Roll the dough into one-inch balls, then roll in turbinado sugar. Place on a parchment or baking mat lined cookie sheet, about an inch or two apart. Make an indent in the centre of each cookie, with your thumb or the handle of a wooden spoon. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until the cookie is set.

Put the chocolate, cream, and Irish cream in a heatproof bowl on top of a pot of simmering water (or in a double boiler if you have one). Heat, stirring occasionally until chocolate is melted. Let cool slightly then pipe or spoon into the indentations in the cookies. Let cool until the ganache is set.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

3 thoughts on “Rockin’ Bailey’s Thumbprint Cookies

Leave a Reply

