‘Tis the Season…

Recently I’ve been super surprised and very pleased to be nominated for some really great blog awards. I want to take the time to thank my nominators and to put forth my own nominees:

First up are two lovely awards bestowed upon me by my new friend at Transplanted Cook. She’s an American expat living in England and I love her delicious posts and connection to history. She and I have quite a bit in common and I think we have found in each other a kindred spirit.

inner_peace_awardI am accepting the Inner Peace Award because I feel as though I’ve grown so much over the past year. Blogging has become like second nature to me and I enjoy sharing the food that I make with family, friends, and readers of Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen. This blog has brought me inner peace. I’ve finally found something I was born to do.

I would like to nominate:

The only “rule” for the Inner Peace Award is that you write a short piece on why you are accepting it.


wordpress-family-award1During my first year as a blogger I learned more about myself when I included my family traditions and stories in the blog. Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen became more than just a food blog, it became like a scrapbook where I could collect thoughts and memories online. A good chunk of my family isn’t online so I’m not lucky enough to get feed back and support from them. It’s sometimes difficult and that is where my ‘WordPress Family’ comes in. I’ve met so many interesting people all over the world who take the time to read what I have to say and offer kind words of encouragement. It means the world to me!

I’d like to nominate:

1 Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2 Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and a link back.
3 Nominate up to 15 bloggers for I’m a part of the WordPress Family Award, provide a link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.
4 Copy and paste the award somewhere on your blog.


liebster1

A good while back I received the Liebster Award from Because I Like Chocolate.  The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. So, what is a Liebster?  The meaning: Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome.  Blogging is about building a community and it’s a great way to connect with other bloggers and help spread the word about newer bloggers/blogs.

My questions from Because I Like Chocolate were:

1. What relatively famous or well-known blogger do you look to for inspiration? Definitely David Lebovitz. He is an American living the life in Paris, the most beautiful of cities. His blog features lovely photos of food and travel experiences. Every recipe of his that I have tried has turned out amazing. This guy is the real deal.
2. What would your last meal be and why? I’ve often thought about this and I have never come up with a good answer. I like so many cuisines and food styles. Maybe a seafood spread? Mammoth? Fugu? Hey if it was Fugu I wouldn’t worry about dying from it because it was already my last meal.
3. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? Difficult question…I would like to retire to Albany or Denmark in Western Australia (or maybe Adelaide or Tasmania)
4. What is your favourite type of chocolate? dark, with chili
5. Sweet or salty? ugh. both
6. What is the craziest thing you have checked off your bucket list to date? hiking in Borneo rain forest
7. What is your favourite restaurant and why? Hugo in Paris. Because everything is perfect and it’s in Paris!
8. What do you have planned to be on your Christmas dinner menu this year? mostly sweets for the sweet platter since we’re heading to my mom and dad’s. They want to have a seafood feast.
9. What is your favourite trashy TV show? Orange is the New Black
10. If you could eat dinner with one person, dead or alive, who would it be? My Grandpa Lajeunesse who I never got to meet as he passed two years before I was born.
For the Liebster Award I nominate:
Here are your 10 questions:
  1. What do you like to do in your down time (non blog related)?
  2. What is your favourite childhood memory?
  3. What is your favourite cocktail?
  4. What person has been the most influential to you during your lifetime?
  5. What is the cooking appliance you can’t do without?
  6. Do you have a food fear? Something you are afraid to eat or cook?
  7. Gold or Silver?
  8. What is the best book you’ve read recently?
  9. What have you discovered about yourself through blogging?
  10. If you had to live in a decade/year other than the current one, which would you choose and why?
If you have been nominated, here’s what to do next:
1. Read my answers to the (10) questions selected by the blogger who nominated me.
2. Find (10) bloggers with less than 200 followers to nominate for the award (not sure I really followed this criteria but what the heck).
3. Write a post on your blog featuring the Liebster Award.
4. After you have written your post, comment on each nominee’s blog informing them of the nomination.

nba

Nepaliaustralian has decided to run her own Blog Awards for 2013. She took nominations for several categories including: Best Blog 2013, Best Photo Blog 2013, Best Travel Blog 2013, Best Fashion Blog 2013 and the list goes on! I was very excited to learn I have been nominated for Best Food Blog 2013. The winners are determined by vote so if you want to stop by and have a look or maybe even swing a vote my way! Check out Nepaliaustralian.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

17 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season…

  1. I’m honored! Thank you so much for nominating me for “two” awards. You certainly do have a gift for blogging and I agree about being born to do it! I have here in my possession a dark chocolate bar with spicy chile! It has been in my desk drawer for a few weeks now and I wish I could just send it along your way as a token of my appreciation. 😉 Email me your address and I just might have to do it! Congratulations on your well deserved awards. And I really love your background…so vintage looking.

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination! I have been MIA for a few weeks, working too much and really missing blogging. I love your blog, and it really an honor to be recognized as a hard-working small scale blogger.

  3. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour… and Other Things | foodisthebestshitever

Leave a Reply

