Chai Shortbread

Christmas baking started a bit earlier this year when I got opportunity to throw a baby shower for a new mother. I was happy to try out some new recipes and make use of some old ones but one cookie that I knew I had to make was Chai Shortbread.  I had made Chai Shortbread previously for my Christmas goodie platter but that was before I started this blog. Who knows where I left the recipe…I sure don’t!  Not to worry, the internet is a marvelous invention.  A quick internet search and I found this super recipe from Delicious Everyday that looked to be a great substitute for the original.

I love cookie recipes that can be made ahead and refrigerated until you need to bake them but I can attest to the fact that shortbread ALWAYS tastes better with a little age. If you can, make the cookies a couple of days before the big event and you will be rewarded with great flavour.

chai1

Shortbread is another Christmas staple in our family and it always will be. When I bake it I always end up reminiscing about how my late Grandma Leaderhouse loved baking, especially anything with a lot of butter. She made the best shortbread and always made sure to make a batch to give to my dad at Christmas. He really looked forward to having his own little treats all to himself. This year, I’m having a difficult time figuring out what my dad would like for Christmas but now I think the answer is right here. Don’t you?

035

Chai Short bread (from Delicious Everyday)

Ingredients
  • 2 cups plain (all purpose) flour
  • 3 tbs loose leaf chai leaves
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ cup icing (confectioners’) sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 230g (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
Instructions
  1. Add the flour and tea leaves to a food processor and process until the tea is ground and spotted throughout the flour. Add the salt, icing sugar, vanilla extract and butter and pulse until a dough forms. Remove from the food processor and roll into a log of roughly 6cm (2½ inches) in diameter and wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Preheat oven to 190 celsius (375 Fahrenheit) and line a cookie sheet with baking paper. Slice the dough into 24 cookies and bake for 12 minutes or until the edges begin to golden. Cool on the baking tray before transferring to a rack to cool completely.
This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

17 thoughts on “Chai Shortbread

  1. Pingback: In My Kitchen – December 2013 | Dish 'n' the kitchen

  2. Pingback: Marshmallow Topped Brownies – YYC Bloggers Bake Sale | Dish 'n' the kitchen

  3. These look so good, Bernice! I made Chai Shortbread this year too, but I used brown sugar. Next time I think I’ll try them with icing sugar, like you did. The Chai flavour probably shines better.

Leave a Reply

