Chocolate Porter Coconut Cake – A Celebration

There are many days that call for celebrations in a food blogger’s lifetime. I’m so pleased and honoured to announce that Dish ‘n’ the Kitchen has reached 200 followers just shy of my very first blogiversary. I’m just really excited to have so many people interested in something that is so important to me.

I couldn’t help but take the opportunity to bake a cake for this occasion so I chose a special cake from one of my personal favourite bloggers and cookbook author, David Lebovitz. Any cake I have made using his recipes has turned out splendidly and so when I have a special cake to bake my first look is always at David’s site. Of course, he didn’t disappoint and I found this amazing recipe for a Chocolate Stout Cake.

I also wanted to experiment a bit today so when I hit the Co-op liquor store I didn’t get a bottle of Guinness but instead brought home a delicious sounding Longboat Chocolate Porter by Phillips Brewing Company. I had a rich, dense cake in mind marked with a bit of sweetness from coconut so this was a great opportunity for me to try baking with coconut oil.  I replaced half of the butter in David’s recipe with an equal amount of coconut oil. In addition, I added some shredded coconut for a bit more coconut flavour. I thought maybe I could get away with just a light dusting of cocoa powder…

bundt

But who am I kidding? I’m pretty sure David included a ganache for a reason.  Now, who’s coming over to celebrate?

bundt2

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

18 thoughts on “Chocolate Porter Coconut Cake – A Celebration

  1. Yumptious! I don’t know if you are able to get it over in Canada but Matzos have put out a lovely Mango Cider with finger lime and it is the bees knees! So very nice on a hot day. I like Little Creatures too but I’m more a cider girl 😀

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Christmas Cake – Sortedfood.com - Musings Of A Mild Mannered Man

Leave a Reply

