In My Kitchen – Novembrrrrrr Edition

Ha! See what I did there? Novembrrrrr.

November is rushing by and Christmas is ever looming…It’s been a busy month with football still every night (but thankfully ending on Saturday), karate, visiting in laws, and today I woke up in a slight panic when I realized it was kid number one’s birthday! He’s thirteen years old which means I officially have no children in the house, only teenagers. Man, that makes me feel old! He’s still my baby though and loves playing in the snow.

058

It’s also been an interesting month In My Kitchen. I’ve been quite busy perfecting my pie pastry. I’m almost there but I’ve realized something…the only way to get better is make lots and lots of pies. That’s not always a good thing!019

Lemon Meringue Pie

Tourtière

Tourtière

I’ve also been testing out a new kitchen helper, the Bellini Kitchen Master. For those of you in Australia it is similar to the Thermomix. I made the lemon curd for the Lemon Meringue Pie in it.

055

I had my in laws visiting from Pinawa, Manitoba. They were really surprised we had snow already and also I think a little jealous. They are really into cross country skiing and are quite active in helping to maintain their local ski trails and rest huts.  I took my father in law for a drive to pick up wine and brought him to the Calgary Farmer’s Market. He talked up the lady at Green Eggs and Ham while I talked mushrooms and truffles next door at  Fifth Element Fine Foods. He brought home duck eggs (and the lady’s email!) for an experiment and I brought home some Samphire, (or Sea Asparagus) and a huge mound of gorgeous Cauliflower mushrooms.

samphire

cauliflower

On the night before they left to fly to Arizona, I made this really amazing Flourless Chocolate Walnut Cake. I have to say this one is one of those recipes that will be around for years to come.

choc

After they were gone I needed a load of groceries and came back with this odd looking citrus. I still haven’t figured out what to do with it. Any ideas?

buddha

That’s almost it for this month’s post. I’ve been meaning to sneak in a photo of my homemade soft light box. When the daylight hours get short the light in my house is really bad for taking photos. You can probably tell which photos I am taking using ambient light and which ones I take the time to set up in my light box. It is permanently set up in the dining area so that I can take decent photos during the dark winter months.

2013-09-19 17.32.36

Thanks so much to Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting this little sneak peak into kitchens around the world. If you get a chance check out her November In My Kitchen as well as her huge round up list of other blogger’s amazing kitchens.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

13 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – Novembrrrrrr Edition

  1. I think the only reason I want a Thermomix or similar is to make lemon curd! Candy the peel of the Budda hand citron and use it when you bake pannetone for Christmas.

  2. I’ve never seen those cauliflower mushrooms – how unusual. I went to a permaculture course lasy year and the instructor told us that Buddha’s Hand was zested as a lemon style flavouring in Thai cooking and the skin could also be candied. The light in my kitchen is rubbish and it’s the middle of Summer here which is why most of my photos are taken in the garden!

  3. Such a great haul in your kitchen!
    Your baked goods are lovely and make me want to make some – specially the flourless chocolate walnut cake.
    Thanks so much for sharing- the Buddha’s hand isn’t new to me- but I’ve never used one either. And the mushroom looks fantastic!

  4. Bernie, I am never going to complain about the light in my winter kitchen again. I never stopped to think how hard photography gets for folks in the Northern Hem where it REALLY gets dark in winter! Love your improvised light box. And that mushroom is absolutely stunning, I’ve never seen anything like it. I’ve never seen a Buddha’s hand before – is it like a finger lime or something inside? Pies are looking fabulous, and happy birthday to your big boy! 🙂

    (PS. Just to let you know, next month I’m going to ask folks to post their IMK posts by the 10th. Hope that’s ok, it’s just to help me manage my time a bit, the gathering is growing so large it’s getting to be a bit of work! :))

    • oh yes. It’s pitch dark outside by 4:30…bugger.
      I haven’t cut into the Buddha’s hand yet but from what I’ve read it’s all pith..so marmalade or candied citrus would be the best ways to use it.
      I usually post late so I can get a bit of a collection of what is going on throughout the month, otherwise my kitchen is pretty boring…the 10th is pretty early but I’ll try. I understand it’s a big job that takes up a lot of time.

      Also, did you watch Day of the Doctor yet??!!! Oooooooooweeeeeeooooooo!

      • Just saw it!! Am watching it again right now! It was A-MAZ-ING!!

        Re the 10th of the month – maybe you could get everything together the month before and just post at the beginning of the following month? Sorry for the inconvenience, but yes, it’s getting a bit too much to handle if I have to upload posts all month long. Not great for the blogger either, as their post only ends up on the list for a few days if they post too close to the end of the month… thanks x

  5. You’ve made me feel so hungry looking at those wonderful pies! That samphire is reminding me of a long weekend in Wales where we tried to forage for as much food as possible and ended up wading out in mud with our jeans rolled up to our knees to collect samphire. It was delicious, definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

