Dill Pickle Bread

I’ve been feeling that ‘homey’ instinct for a while now since the weather has begun to chill and the days are ever so short.  When I get that feeling I turn the oven on a lot more doing braises, roasting, and baking.  I recently was introduced to a new delicious blog via a follower on Twitter and at first glance I knew I had to try to make my own Dill Pickle Bread from Food Retro. I knew immediately that it would be something my pickle crazed family would devour, unlike the pickle soup I made them a couple of years ago. The drool worthy photos of Dill Pickle bread and cheese toasties on Anne’s blog even had me salivating and I’m not as nuts about pickles as the kids are.

Now, as you may imagine, getting yeast to proof in a brine which includes vinegar is a bit of a problem. I’m not really sure what kind of wizardry Anne was up to but her bread rose beautifully while mine did not. Still, the bread was tasty enough to be worthy of another try.

The recipe starts out a simple brine made of vinegar, sugar, water, mustard seeds, dill seeds, garlic, and salt. I mis-read the recipe and just added dill weed. It was just as well as I don’t think I have any dill seed.

brine

After the brine has cooled to 110F, yeast and sugar are added and allowed to proof until you see some action. In the meantime I finely diced some of my precious lacto fermented pickles.

pickles

After about 10-15 minutes you should be able to continue on with the addition of the minced pickle, dill weed, olive oil, and two cups of flour. Make sure to add the flour gradually until the mixture comes together to form a ball. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and knead until the dough is nice and stretchy. Remember, it’s important to work that gluten! Let the dough rise in a bowl in a warm spot until it has doubled in size (1-1 1/2 hours) then punch and knead it a bit. Reform the ball into a loaf shape and lay in a greased loaf pan. Let the loaf rise for another 30-45 minutes then bake for 30 minutes in a pre-heated 350F oven.

bread

picklebread

I’m jealous that Anne had her bread around long enough to get that great dill pickle bread and cheese toastie shot…mine didn’t hang around long enough to be used creatively!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

6 thoughts on “Dill Pickle Bread

  1. You said yours didn’t turn out right, but it looks like it turned out very well given the altitude! Vinegar in bread can pose a host of challenges even at sea level… Not only does it affect the yeast, it also affects gluten development. Pickle adds a lot of weight too. All factors together mean a denser, slightly flatter loaf. 🙂 It just doesn’t rise as high as my ADY white bread, period… it’s more like whole wheat or quick rise yeast white.

    I’ve got no experience trying to accommodate for altitude, but you could try maybe .25t more yeast to see if that helps your oomph.

  2. I few months ago I was obsessed with making a pickle juice rye bread– sounded so delicious. The recipe was flawed (from Food & Wine too!) and I tried THREE times with pretty sad results. Your bread looks great! I’ll have to try it. My husband will roll his eyes if I mention it though…… 🙂

  3. Last summer I bought a loaf of bread from some Amish ladies that had cottage cheese and dill weed in it. It was delicious. Have you tried the Dill Pickle Flavored Potatoe Chips yet? Very tasty!

  4. Pingback: Rain, Rain, Go Away! | emilykarn

Leave a Reply

