In My Kitchen – October Edition

It seems like time keeps on slinking away and now that I’ve resurfaced I’ve found that we’re into the third week in October! Where has time gone?  Well two of my friends have become first time parents so I’ve been busy lending a hand or two when I can. Neither of them have family here in Calgary so I’ve offered myself as a stand in ‘Auntie’.

Here’s a bit of interesting food for thought…have you been brought up to call someone (who is not an official Aunt) like a related elder or close family friend ‘Auntie’ as a sign of respect? I know in some cultures this is very common but I grew up in rural Saskatchewan in a French/German/Hungarian household. I even called some of my older cousins ‘Auntie’ and still do til this day. I’m not an official ‘Auntie’ yet but in the meantime I can be a stand in Auntie!

I started out October on a ginger kick. I bought a bunch of ginger the size of my head and turned it into ginger syrup, fresh ginger cake, and a couple of failed attempts at fermented ginger beer. The ginger syrup was a bit hit with the kids and adults at our Thanksgiving table. I mixed about 30 ml of syrup with a small bottle of Perrier to make a nice strong ginger ale.

gingerAfter my ginger fetish had waned a bit I became infatuated with pies…

pie4

pie5

October had officially begun as a baby month and there was plenty to give thanks for during Canadian Thanksgiving. All my siblings traveled to our house for the weekend so we definitely had a houseful. I went all out and bought a free range organic turkey from a local turkey supplier brined it on Friday morning for dinner on Sunday. It turned out really well, much better than my first attempt at brining. I think the trick is to remember to rinse the turkey well before you stuff it and put it in the oven. My family has stuffed turkey for generations and no one has died yet.

turkey

I may have mentioned once or twice that kid number two is the artist of the family. I like to get her involved during holidays by making the table centerpiece her job. And you know the expression ‘there’s one in every family’? Here’s the clean up crew…

flowers

 

It’s always great to live vicariously through others…if you are a kitchen voyeur head on over to Celia’s kitchen at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial with a cup of coffee and be prepared to be amazed at other people’s kitchens.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

16 thoughts on “In My Kitchen – October Edition

  1. I was invited to a party once with a huge multi-generational group of people. I was related to no one. This young man came up and asked me who I was (he was about 6). I told him my name and he started calling me Aunt. I said “I am not your Aunt”. Yes you are, he says, anyone taller than me is my Aunt or Uncle, anyone my height or shorter is my cousin. That works!

  2. In Nepal, anyone older than you are called Aunty and Uncle. If only slightly older than you, he/she is big brother (dai) and big sister (didi). If someone is really old aama (mum) or ba (dad) is common. Basically we are a big family no matter if u are related by birth or not. ?:-)

  3. What a heartwarming post, Bernice! The new Mom must appreciate your help greatly. (I think it’s nice being called Aunt or Auntie, too.) Thanks for your tip on making homemade gingerale — that sounds wonderful — and your Thanksgiving dinner has made me look forward to ours.

  4. Thanks for sharing your Thanksgiving with us!
    My husband is Canadian and we lived in Edmonton for the first year of our marriage- we celebrated two Thanksgivings that year- and then he emigrated to the US the following year- although we still have relatives in Canada we have never been there for Thanksgiving since.
    Love the photo of your clean up crew!

    • So I’m guessing you’ve switched to celebrating American thanksgiving. I guess there’s an actual reason the dates are different but I don’t actually know why. Do you?
      I like our date better…it’s not so close to Christmas. It gives our family a separate excuse to see each other.

  5. I can understand a pie infatuation – someone just needs to mention pie and then I’ll have it in my brain until I finally get to bake one. I think I would have liked your ginger hit, and it’s fabulous that you can buy an organic free range turkey! And yes, I’m Chinese, so almost every single one of our friends is “auntie” or “uncle” to our kids. I actually love it – it makes me feel like we’re all related, and my sister and most of Pete’s siblings aren’t in Sydney, so it’s wonderful for my sons to be growing up with an extended family of people who love them.

  6. I was brought up to call my mother’s friends ‘Auntie’ and so were my children but the grandchildren are much more casual and first names are in order all round!

    I tend to max out on things like you with your ginger and then pies! So long as we are happy, that’s all that matters!

Leave a Reply

