Ayam Panggang Kunyit (Turmeric Grilled Chicken)

It wasn’t that difficult to remember what my next post was going to be about this morning.  As I sat down to type my hands were still stained a bright yellow from the previous day’s adventures with fresh turmeric roots.  I’ve been wanting to try a dish with fresh turmeric for a while now and since I managed to find some at Basha International Foods yesterday I was all set.

005

Now…where did I put that recipe? Oh yes! My fellow blogger and Malaysian food lover Biren from Roti n Rice had posted a recipe for Ayam (Chicken) Panggang (Grilled) Kunyit (Turmeric) that had me salivating. The chicken looked so beautiful and I’ve heard a lot about the natural benefits of Turmeric so I placed this dish on my ‘to do’ list straight away.  Just now as I’ve checked her post for the link back I’ve noticed she suggested wearing a pair of rubber gloves….haha! too late!

006008

Really though, getting everything stained yellow is probably the most difficult thing about making this dish. All the recipe calls for is four knobs of turmeric, salt, pepper, and oil.  Mash it all up with a mortar and pestle, throw it into a marinating bag and add chicken, making sure to massage the paste onto all the pieces of chicken for even coverage. Let sit for at least an hour and grill. I chose to take the skin off my chicken thighs but you don’t have to.

015

022Going forward with the yellow theme, I made saffron rice to eat with the chicken and sauteed some green beans with some cherry tomatoes, both from my garden.

023

The chicken had a really fresh, earthy and slightly spicy flavour and was well received by the family. I made sure to do the dishes in the stainless steel laundry room sink instead of my white porcelain kitchen sink.

Many thanks to Biren for the recipe, next time I will be sure to follow your advice and wear gloves!

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

16 thoughts on “Ayam Panggang Kunyit (Turmeric Grilled Chicken)

      • Oh, but well deserved! It is just a small way to share appreciation to fellow bloggers. I looked up the guidelines, listed below. 15 nominations seems a lot, I have also seen just 3 to 7 nominated. It is up to you, no need to do anything unless you feel like it.

        Guidelnes:
        Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging
        Let the nominated bloggers know that they have been nominated for this award
        Share 7 random facts about yourself
        Thank the blogger who has nominated you
        Add the Versatile Award picture to your post

  1. Oh wow this recipe looks SO good! I have never even thought of cooking with a turmeric root (I actually didn’t even really realize it was a root haha), so I love it when I come across recipes like this! I learned something new and am now craving something delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

