Spinach, Mascarpone, and Goat Cheese Manicotti

My only girl, kid number two has special hair. It’s almost like it has a life of its own…when she was a baby I knew she was going to have an interesting time of it when I noticed she had not one, but two crowns. One regular crown at the back of her head and another very near the front. As if that wasn’t enough, she has a large ‘cow lick’ also in the front but on the opposite side as the crown. Her hair also had a lot of ‘body’ so that when she would wake up in the morning, there was always a smile on her face and an interesting ‘do on her head.  Recently she got her hair cut shorter so that it is more manageable for ‘cosplay’. She chopped it all off and it really suits her. I can hardly remember her with long hair anymore. This morning though, she came down the stairs and I swear her hair looked like Kramer’s from ‘Seinfeld’. I told her and she did a little movement and quote from the show; it was so hilarious I almost spit my coffee out. That girl. She takes after her mother with her sense of humour!

That girl also likes anything pasta and covered in cheese. So, having a bit of cool-ish weather recently (we turned the furnace on!) got me to thinking I should bake a warm and comforting meal.  The idea for cannelloni or manicotti immediately came to mind when I saw what needed to be used up in the fridge. A full container of mascarpone, some ‘almost gone’ spinach, and some herbed goat cheese from the Okanagan. All I had to do was make the pasta…Oh Hell, I just went and got the pre made manicotti tubes! To the mascarpone, spinach, goat cheese mixture I also added an egg, salt, pepper, fresh basil and some Parmesan. I made up a little tomato sauce and spread a bit on the bottom of my baking pan.  Then I put the filling into a ziploc bag and piped it into the tubes.

022

I made sure not to place the tubes too close together.

025

Then I covered the manicotti about 3/4 way with the sauce. Don’t forget as much cheese as you can bear!

017

Then I baked it in the oven at 350F for about 45 minutes.

037

039

And with the whole family in attendance for the meal, there were no leftovers!

By the way I did ask if I could take a picture of kid number two’s ‘Kramer hair’ but she declined. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

5 thoughts on “Spinach, Mascarpone, and Goat Cheese Manicotti

Leave a Reply

