A Visit to Oh My Dog BBQ

There’s a new-ish little restaurant near our house that I’ve been meaning to try for a while. It occupies a space in a strip mall that has seen its share of businesses come and go. I don’t know if the space is hard for people to see or if each business was doomed to fail in their own right but I was surprised when yet another place opened its doors there.

I have to admit ‘Oh My Dog’ is a really good name for this business and is very attention grabbing. It certainly grabbed my attention one day while I was visiting the nearby thrift shop because ‘Oh my dog!’ is something my sister says ALL THE TIME! She says it when her dog, Abbey gets excited (and to get her MORE excited) in that high pitched ‘doggy mommy’ voice that only pet owners can have. It’s pretty hilarious, so naturally I thought the name was a good choice and I ended up telling my sister about it too.

The kids are off on school break right now and lunch time has always been a tough one for me. I just don’t like thinking about preparing lunch and would rather have something simple like cheese, fruit and crackers or a no brainer sandwich. I prefer to keep my culinary focus on making something really delicious for dinner, not lunch. But, kids have to be fed so decided one day we could make a quick stop into Oh My Dog to see what the place was all about.

Oh My Dog is pretty basic. They have over a dozen different kinds of hot dogs (using all beef wieners) ranging from the Steamy (ketchup, mustard, relish, onions) to the pulled pork (yes, a hot dog with pulled pork and coleslaw on it), the Mac n Cheese (Mac n Cheese and bacon bits) and the signature OMD dog (with a foot long pork/beef dog, topped with anything you can think of PLUS a pound of fries). The options are seemingly endless.  If you don’t want a regular beef dog, there are several options to order including  Italian sausage.

We were there on a Fryday Friday, so all the dogs we ordered came with a side of their very delicious house made fries. We had already decided to each order a dog, then share an order of poutine so in the end we just ended up paying an extra charge for making the fries into poutine. Not bad. There seemed to be a steady stream of business coming in, some ordering dogs, or fries, or just a refreshing scoop ice cream on a super hot Friday.

Kid number one was really hungry, this came as no surprise. He opted for the Mexican Dog. It came topped with chili, salsa, sour cream, jalapenos, and Monterey Jack cheese.

012

I went pretty plain and boring, because that is how I like my hot dogs. Mustard, ketchup, and Sauerkraut and I was happy.

014

Kid number two declared that she wasn’t too hungry, then ate the bulk of our poutine. The fries were perfect for poutine, nice and crispy to stand up to all that gravy. I would  have liked a bit more cheese though.

016

The service was great at Oh My Dog. They were very attentive and prompt in delivering the food. I have one complaint though and it is a big one considering this is a hot dog joint. My wiener was really tough and over cooked (you can even see it is shriveled in the picture).  It was seriously a big let down. I’ve had better hot dogs at Costco and maybe it’s because they are steamed but I don’t like it when my hot dog gets a tough skin on the outside. Since it’s a hot dog place, I wouldn’t make a point of going again because of this. Maybe it would be a good idea for them to offer both steamed and ‘grilled’ hot dogs.

Oh My Dog BBQ on Urbanspoon

Oh My Dog BBQ

1-208 Midpark Way SE

(587) 296-2222

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

