In My Kitchen June Edition

Phew! I’m definitely waiting until the last few hours of June to post this months’ In My Kitchen installment. There wasn’t too much going on today until later on when we went to the farmer’s market. I was super excited to see the ‘mushroom man’ (as I will henceforth refer to him) because he had truffles!!! And next week he’ll have morels so I’m just bursting to get cooking with them! Anyway, here’s how the morning started for us on this last day of June:  033

Sunday morning buttermilk pancakes made by Hubby. He’s the breakfast person around here, I’m the clean up crew. It’s nice not to have to cook right away in the morning.

032

This is one of my dogs, Louis. He’s smooth red dachshund.  Louis likes to always be underfoot when we’re making food in the kitchen. We think he is ever hopeful…

035

My Starbucks City Mugs from our trip to France/Belgium/Netherlands. For some reason I started picking on or two up on holidays in whatever country we were in. I have quite a few now though I was not impressed that the Starbucks in Bruges was sold out when I was there. I had to buy one off of that nasty ebay. Talk about price gouging.

029

A Beautiful thank you picture from some Canadian soldiers in Kuwait. One of our friends had a buddy that was over there and arranged to have special Christmas packages sent over for a morale booster. I made a little care package of candy, coffee and magazines and sure didn’t expect this in return!

049

Some Christmas cactus clippings I got from a friend. She says she has several colours in one pot. What colour (s) do you think I have?

039

I put up this rail system from IKEA a while ago. My intent was to put herbs in the pots. I still haven’t gotten around to doing that so kid number two decided to put some pictures of her favourite actors inside.  The first one on the left is Misha Collins (Supernatural), then Benedict Cumberbatch (BBC Sherlock), and finally David Tennant (Dr Who)

So that’s it. Fairly simple I guess as not much changes in my kitchen. Maybe next month I’ll have herbs in those pots!

Thanks to Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial for hosting In my kitchen every month – check out her blog for more posts.

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

22 thoughts on “In My Kitchen June Edition

  1. Herbs…or Tennant and Cumberbatch? I’d probably stick with the latter, to be honest! 🙂 Have you seen BC in the latest Star Trek movie? He has the most amazing voice. Love the idea of making pancaked on the sandwich press, and how fabulous to get that photo back from the soldiers! It was very kind of you to be so supportive of them, and obviously they appreciated it enormously!

    • I haven’t seen it yet but kid number two was there right away. She’s a huge fan and dresses as Sherlock for cosplay.
      It’s a neat gadget, the cuisinart griddler. It comes with a grill side and a flat side as well. I rarely use it to make paninis but I guess I should! The kids are home for summer hols right now so that would be a treat for them as they are so sick of cold sandwiches in school lunches. One of my favourite paninis is pear and brie YUM!
      I think I get to meet one of the soldiers very soon…I’m excited to have had the opportunity to help and they were all very appreciated. I was told the minute all the pressies were opened, the loot was distributed within minutes!

  2. Your kitchen and you look like a lot of fun!
    I always wait until after a farmers market to do my IMK post because my garden is just not putting out yet.
    My son has a collection of starbucks mugs from where my niece travels- I was so happy when he moved out with them. Not that he moved out – but that they were no longer taking up so much space in the kitchen- I think he has 15 of them now.

    • heh, yeah they do take up a lot of space. I didn’t picture the rest of my collection..those were just from our recent trip!
      Thanks for the compliments…
      Funny about the garden. This is the first year I did a ‘community garden’. I was a bit late planting because we were in France, then it was sold rain when we got back. So everyone else is enjoying their vegetables but me. I think I will soon be able to pick some lettuce though.

    • Aww thanks. He is a great dog, though as a dachshund he also has some quirks..lol. I actually have two and was planning on featuring the other in my July post.
      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Hi Joanne thanks for dropping by! I love keeping in touch with Aussie food friends 🙂
      I’m hoping I’ll find a spot for that Christmas cactus…my house is pretty shady so plants aren’t doing so well. Almost feel like cutting down some trees!

  3. Pingback: In My Kitchen, July 2013 | What's On The List?

    • Welcome 🙂 This is only my second month and my kitchen isn’t too exciting or at least I don’t think it is.
      My friend said she had several different colours in one pot so I guess I won’t know until Christmas.

  4. Louis, like our Silas, is the optimist … and opportunist when crumbs drop in the kitchen. Your hanging pails are so cute and I like how your kiddo temporarily dressed them up while waiting for herbs. That photo is a treasure, thanks for sharing it.

  5. I have a very similar dog that resides in the kitchen catching all crumbs dropped. Love the tour of your kitchen ,

Leave a Reply

