Fresh Ginger Cake

Coincidences are strange. I’ve been following a blog by David Lebovitz called the Living the Sweet Life in Paris.  I had been researching places to dine in Paris when I found his blog about food in Paris. If you’ve ever checked in on the Paris food scene, you’ll find a mish mash of varying opinions and find that the Paris foodies are somewhat fickle. What is haute one day, may not be the next. Restaurants enjoying a fair bit of success are often hard to book and also can suffer from a bit of  ‘over inflation’ of the ego.  I would prefer to dine at a couple of places that are popular but that have also stood the test of time.  True Paris bistros and places of cuisine.  So, I’m planning on visiting a few of his favourite places when we go. Funny thing is, I really hadn’t looked at many of his recipes or really had heard much about his cookbooks before I found the blog and I was just using it for travel information. Weeks later I was looking through another blogs blogroll and came upon this post by Chocolate and Zucchini. I found the recipe quite exciting and started grating the ginger about five minutes later. Let me say that this is probably one of the best cakes I have ever made. Even though we were eating late we couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try this cake fresh with a bit of whipped cream on top. I was so happy with it that I put a huge slice on a plate and got hubby to run it over to the neighbours at 9:30 pm.

One problem though. The batter is fairly runny. I would not recommend using a spring form pan for this cake, especially if you have just cleaned your oven. Like me.

056

 

Try it for yourself here

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

