Umami: Not Just Japanese for Delicious

Some food for thought…plus I really love truffle salt!

The Silk Road Spice Merchant

Submitted by Vanessa Gillard

I’ve never understood the appeal of Ketchup (or Catsup for that matter), and being the condiment misfit in various social circles over the years has been a tough road. People often express a slightly high-pitched disbelief: “Really, you don’t like ketchup?” To which I reply, somewhat wearily, “Nope, I’ve just never liked it.” To my taste and palate that most popular tomato condiment is just a glorified sugar sauce. I’ve always loved Caesar salad dressing, though. I’ve considered putting it on ketchup, in fact.

Although I may never be convinced that they are anything alike, it turns out that ketchup and Caesar dressing have a key taste component in common called umami, or “the fifth taste.”

“Ooo-what-y?” you may be thinking.

The four more commonly known tastes are sweet, sour, salty and bitter. Umami is the black sheep of this clan in that it was adopted as an…

View original post 465 more words

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

