Lemon and Cranberry Scones

It’s nearing four o’clock and all I can think about is tea and scones. I know it’s a bit late for tea but tonight we’ll be having dinner quite late due to karate.  Plenty of time to digest scones. I haven’t made scones for a couple years now and I’m not sure why. I think it is because my favourite kind have dried cranberries and lemon zest added. I keep on buying the huge bags of dried cranberries at Costco but the kids eat them up pretty fast. Today, I noticed there was about a cup left in the bag so I knew I had to make the scones right away.

The first time I made scones was probably around 2006. I searched online for a recipe and found this one at Allrecipes.com. It was the first recipe I ever tried out and saved on that site and I’m glad I did.  To bake, I don’t cut out the scones with a fancy cutter but I just mound them all together in a round and flatten it out until it’s about 3 cm thick. I cut it into wedges and dampen the tops a bit, then sprinkle on some raw sugar granules.

017

 

The recipe says to bake for 15 minutes but I usually leave them in a bit longer than that.

031

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

