In My Kitchen June 2014

June is such a busy month here in Canada. There’s lots of yard work and gardening to do, preserves to make (gotta keep up with that rhubarb!), end of school wrap up events to attend, and especially for me….it’s the beginning of football season! I’ve been so busy that it seems like I just woke up and realized today was June 10 and Celia of Fig Jam and Lime Cordial is waiting (every so patiently) for my addition to her monthly In My Kitchen series.

So far, I’ve been busy with strawberry rhubarb jam:jam

Plums and Cardamom:

icedteaRed Plum Cardamom Iced Tea

Not so busy with Gin cocktails on the deck:cocktailI found a new novel to read while enjoying those cocktails:055Yesterday I made a quick trip to the Italian market and found some goodies…just look at that dulce de leche! I also bought spicy capicollo and sliced provolone and made the kids after school Stromboli. No pictures because they absolutely demolished it!052I scored a nice new white marble background…which I will remember to NOT use next to a flaming red wall….054Funny story about the marble cupboard…I spotted it online about 9 pm one night on our local kijiji classifieds but didn’t get a return message until about 10:15. I spent some time coaxing and arguing with my son and husband that we needed to grab this piece ASAP, meaning that night or it would be gone. After about ten minutes they finally relented and we went to pick it up. As we were leaving there was a light drizzle, by the time we arrived at the seller’s home it was raining quite a bit. I quickly tried to negotiate but my efforts were useless because hubby had already pulled the money (full price!) out of his pocket behind my back. It ended up to be a good thing that it was all over quickly because as soon as the marble and cabinet were in the SUV, the heavens began to shake, rumble, and roar! We made it home and I sat with the dogs watching the amazing light show out the front window while my hubby and our oldest son headed for bed, all this apparently being too much action for a Wednesday night.

That’s it for June! What’s happening in your kitchen this month?

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

16 thoughts on “In My Kitchen June 2014

  1. Love your marble dresser! What a find – it’s going to make a gorgeous background for photos! Your jam’s looking good as does that iced tea. Thanks for the peek in your kitchen this month!

  2. The “dulce de leche” trade mark San Ignacio is from Argentina my home country.
    Do you like it??
    Sometimes it´s extremly sweet for people from other cultures….
    What are you going to cook with it.?
    We eat it on toasts like a sort of jam, or over some desserts like “flan” (sort of sweet pudding)
    Enjoy it!

    • oh I would like to try a flan very much! :)
      we use it to make banoffee pie. It IS very sweet! Graham cracker crust, then a layer or two of sliced bananas, then cover it with dulce de leche…then whipped cream! Very sweet!
      I also have used it in between cookies. I’m not sure I would like it on toast because it is really sweet.
      I wonder if it would make good ice cream?
      Thanks for visiting Ale!!

      • Yeh!! It makes a delicious ice cream and it´s very easy to prepare.
        If you want the recipe please tell me …or the flan recipe.
        Regards!

  3. Yummo, I love freshly made jam. I am about to make some cumquat marmalade as a friend gave me a whole heap of them! and that “Dulce de leche” look amazing! Thanks for sharing your kitchen! Liz x

    • I remember the first time I was going for a neighbourhood walk and stumbled upon a cumquat tree! I wish Canada had the weather to grow such wonderful and interesting fruits that Australia does!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers

