A Visit To Rustic Sourdough Bakery

Recently I opened up the latest edition of City Palate to find that I had won a gift certificate to Rustic Sourdough Bakery way back in December. Through the miracle of modern technology I didn’t know until it was printed in the February/March issue. Through many failed attempts at Facebook messaging and emailing I finally learned that I was not too late to claim my delicious prize. I drove down to 17th Ave today in the snow and had a good look around the bakery and deli very closely before I made my choices. First things first, I made up my mind to home four delicious soft pretzels.

022

They were a bit hard, but we warmed them up a bit and they were super delicious.

Next up I had my eye on a very ‘Rustic’ looking boule of buttermilk sourdough

IMG_5175Honestly, with $75 to spend in the store I felt like a kid in a candy store. I’m pretty sure I could have spent it all but I did want to save some for another day. Since  today is Pi day (March 14) and I had originally planned to make a pie, I decided to try out one of the pies in the bakery case. There was a beautiful looking German Apple Pie, but I decided to go with the Apple and Cranberry Pie which looked a lot more rustic and luscious.  The counter lady told me that the shop had sold out on pies on this holiday last year so they had prepared extra just in case. The pie was absolutely amazing. Just the right amount of crust to filling and the fruit was tart, sour and sweet at the same time. A little bit of cinnamon and a fair amount of sugar in just the right combination. My favourite part was when the whole cranberries popped in my mouth.

011

040

Finally, I had to get a pair of pound cakes. They are a pretty good deal at 2 for $7. I chose a cinnamon walnut loaf, thinking of kid number two who is a big cinnamon fan. I didn’t realize until I was photographing it how pretty it was. It looks like they’ve drawn the dough into a bow before baking it.  The second cake was an orange loaf with a light layer of frosting on top. I knew this one was delicious because i had bought one years ago at the farmers market way back when it was at the Currie Barracks. I think it would be much more picturesque if they had taken the time to candy a real orange slice but I’m sure my kids will appreciate the candy.

IMG_5189IMG_5182

I spent half of my gift certificate and it turns out that I’ll be able to spend the rest of it at the other two locations which are much closer to me. Today though, I left a happy girl with a trunk full of bread.

Here are some other treats to try next time:

IMG_5158IMG_5156
IMG_5157017

Many thanks go to Jos Rehli (owner of Rustic Sourdough Bakery) for the generous prize and to  City Palate for not giving up on me.

 
Rustic Sourdough Bakery & Deli on Urbanspoon

Rustic Sourdough Bakery (Main)

1305 17th Ave SW

Calgary, AB

Bakery: (403) 245-2113

Mon    closed
Tues   8 AM – 6 PM
Wed    8 AM – 6 PM
Thurs 8 AM – 6 PM
Fri       8 AM – 6 PM
Sat      7 AM – 5 PM
Sun     closed

Kingsland Farmers Market Location

7711 Macleod Trail Calgary, AB

Crossroads Market Location

1235 – 26 Avenue S.E.
Calgary, AB

This entry was posted by dishnthekitchen.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 637 other followers

